List of Countries in Africa

As the second largest continent, Africa has an area of 30.3 million square kilometers, which represents 20.4 percent of the Earth’s land area. The name Africa derives from Roman times. In Roman times, “Africa” ​​was the name of the Carthage area of ​​present-day northeast Tunisia. Later, Africa became the name of the south coast of the Mediterranean and has been the name of the African continent since the Middle Ages.

Geographically, the Mediterranean and the Strait of Gibraltar separate Africa from Europe to the north. Africa has land connection with Asia to the northeast; The Suez Canal is considered the distinction between the two continents. By the way, Africa is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and east, and the Red Sea to the northeast.

The highest mountain is Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, 5895 meters above sea level. The longest river is the Nile, which has a length of 6671 kilometers, and the largest lake is Lake Victoria in East Africa with a surface area of ​​68,800 square kilometers.

How Many Countries in Africa

Africa is often divided into the regions of North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, South Africa and East Africa. The continent consists of 54 independent states and 8 territories. In addition, 2 states come with limited or lack of international recognition: Somaliland and Western Sahara. Three states are monarchies, and the rest are republics.

Africa’s largest country is Algeria; the least is the Seychelles. The Gambia is the smallest country on the African mainland.

Map of African Countries

Surrounded by the East Indian and West Atlantic Oceans, Africa means “place where the sun is hot” in Latin. See below for map of Africa and all state flags.

Map of African Countries

Although most countries are undeveloped, Africa is one of the best travel destinations in the world. Top destinations include Maasai Mara National Reserve (Kenya), Victoria Falls (Zambia), Pyramids of Giza (Egypt), Cape Town (South Africa) and Marrakech (Morocco).

Alphabetical List of All Countries in Africa

As of 2020, there are a total of 54 countries in Africa. Among all African countries, Nigeria is the largest one by population and Seychelles is the smallest. See the following for full list of African countries and dependencies in alphabetical order:

# Flag Country Official Name Population
1 Algeria Flag Algeria People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria 43,851,055
2 Angola Flag Angola Republic of Angola 32,866,283
3 Benin Flag Benin Republic of Benin 12,123,211
4 Botswana Flag Botswana Republic of Botswana 2,351,638
5 Burkina Faso Flag Burkina Faso Burkina Faso 20,903,284
6 Burundi Flag Burundi Republic of Burundi 11,890,795
7 Cameroon Flag Cameroon Republic of Cameroon 26,545,874
8 Cape Verde Flag Cabo Verde Republic of Cabo Verde (formerly Cape Verde) 555,998
9 Central African Republic Flag Central African Republic Central African Republic 4,829,778
10 Chad Flag Chad Republic of Chad 16,425,875
11 Comoros Flag Comoros Union of the Comoros 869,612
12 Ivory Coast Flag Côte d’Ivoire Republic of Côte d’Ivoire 26,378,285
13 Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo 89,561,414
14 Djibouti Flag Djibouti Republic of Djibouti 988,011
15 Egypt Flag Egypt Arab Republic of Egypt 102,334,415
16 Equatorial Guinea Flag Equatorial Guinea Republic of Equatorial Guinea 1,402,996
17 Eritrea Flag Eritrea State of Eritrea 3,546,432
18 Swaziland Flag Eswatini Kingdom of Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) 1,163,491
19 Ethiopia Flag Ethiopia Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia 114,963,599
20 Gabon Flag Gabon Gabonese Republic 2,225,745
21 Gambia Flag Gambia Republic of the Gambia 2,416,679
22 Ghana Flag Ghana Republic of Ghana 31,072,951
23 Guinea Flag Guinea Republic of Guinea 13,132,806
24 Guinea-Bissau Flag Guinea-Bissau Republic of Guinea-Bissau 1,968,012
25 Kenya Flag Kenya Republic of Kenya 53,771,307
26 Lesotho Flag Lesotho Kingdom of Lesotho 2,142,260
27 Liberia Flag Liberia Republic of Liberia 5,057,692
28 Libya Flag Libya State of Libya 6,871,303
29 Madagascar Flag Madagascar Republic of Madagascar 27,691,029
30 Malawi Flag Malawi Republic of Malawi 19,129,963
31 Mali Flag Mali Republic of Mali 20,250,844
32 Mauritania Flag Mauritania Islamic Republic of Mauritania 4,649,669
33 Mauritius Flag Mauritius Republic of Mauritius 1,271,779
34 Morocco Flag Morocco Kingdom of Morocco 36,910,571
35 Mozambique Flag Mozambique Republic of Mozambique 31,255,446
36 Namibia Flag Namibia Republic of Namibia 2,540,916
37 Niger Flag Niger Republic of the Niger 24,206,655
38 Nigeria Flag Nigeria Federal Republic of Nigeria 206,139,600
39 Republic of the Congo Flag Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo 5,240,011
40 Rwanda Flag Rwanda Republic of Rwanda 12,952,229
41 Sao Tome and Principe Flag Sao Tome and Principe Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe 219,170
42 Senegal Flag Senegal Republic of Senegal 16,743,938
43 Seychelles Flag Seychelles Republic of Seychelles 98,358
44 Sierra Leone Flag Sierra Leone Republic of Sierra Leone 7,976,994
45 Somalia Flag Somalia Federal Republic of Somalia 15,893,233
46 South Africa Flag South Africa Republic of South Africa 59,308,701
47 South Sudan Flag South Sudan Republic of South Sudan 11,193,736
48 Sudan Flag Sudan Republic of the Sudan 43,849,271
49 Tanzania Flag Tanzania United Republic of Tanzania 59,734,229
50 Togo Flag Togo Togolese Republic 8,278,735
51 Tunisia Flag Tunisia Republic of Tunisia 11,818,630
52 Uganda Flag Uganda Republic of Uganda 45,741,018
53 Zambia Flag Zambia Republic of Zambia 18,383,966
54 Zimbabwe Flag Zimbabwe Republic of Zimbabwe 14,862,935

Dependencies in Africa

Besides 54 independent nations, there are also two dependencies in Africa.

  1. Réunion (France)
  2. Saint Helena (U.K.)

Facts about Africa

  • The Nile River can be seen from space.
  • Hunger strikes thirty African countries with extreme force, especially those in the contiguous areas of the Sahara.
  • Africa’s current political division took shape in the 1960’s and 1970’s, forming 54 independent countries.
  • Africa is the only continent in the world cut by three parallels: the Equator Line, as well as the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn.

You may also like...