美国简介


国家概况

美国位于北美洲中部,全称为美利坚合众国。面积937.26万平方千米。人口2.88亿,84%为白人,其他有黑人、拉美移民、印第安人等。因为这里几乎容纳了全世界各民族的人,所以有“民族熔炉”的美誉。居民主要信奉基督教新教、天主教。英语为官方语言。货币为美元。首都华盛顿(Washington D.C.)。

美国国旗

国旗为星条旗。由7条红色、6条白色共13道宽条组成,靠旗杆一侧的蓝色长方形中50颗白色五角星分9排横列。13道宽条象征美国最初的13个州。五角星数目与合众国的州数一致。红色象征强 大和勇气,白色象征纯洁和清白,蓝色象征警惕、坚忍不拔和正义.每年6月4日为“美国国旗制定纪念日”.

历史沿革

原为印第安人聚居地。15世纪末西班牙、荷兰、法国、英国等开始向北美移民。到1773年英国已在此建立135个殖民地。1775年爆发独立战争。1776年7月4日通过《独立宣言》,正式宣布建立美利坚合众国。1787年制定联邦宪法。在1776年后的100年内,美国领土几乎扩张了10倍。

经济文化民俗

美国是一个工业、农业、交通和科学技术高度发达的世界超级大国。美国工业门类齐全,钢铁、汽车、飞机制造等部门实力雄厚。在钢铁、汽车、飞机、机械、化工、纺织、食品等部门,均有大型跨国公司。加利福尼亚的“硅谷”是著名的高科技中心,以电子计算机产业、软件业事业享誉世界。通信技术、激光技术和生物工程等高新技术在世界上处于领先地位。

农业生产实现了区域化、专业化、机械化、社会化和商品化。极高的劳动生产率使美国成为世界主要的粮食、水果和畜禽生产国。其粮食出口额占世界农产品贸易额的40%。大豆、玉米、小麦出口量均居世界首位。柑橘产量居世界首位。畜牧业已完全实现工业化生产。

在美国社会中,人们的一切行为都以个人为中心,个人利益是神圣不可侵犯的,这种准则渗透在社会生活的各方面。人们日常交谈, 不喜欢涉及个人私事。询问别人年龄、婚姻状况、收入、宗教信仰、竞选中投谁的票都是非常冒昧和失礼的。

华尔街是美国乃至世界金融的神经中枢。纽约证券交易所就在华尔街和罗德街交角处,它是世界上最大的股票和证券交易市场。美国10家最大银行中的6家及许多大经纪公司都设立于此。

珍珠港

美国在太平洋的重要海、空军基地。位于太平洋中部夏威夷群岛的瓦胡岛南岸。地处狭窄的珍珠溪两条支道的人海处,为一水深10~15米的良港。1941年12月8日星期日清晨7时55分,日本出动飞机350架、战舰55艘,突袭珍珠港。美军太平洋舰队主力几乎全部被摧毁,这就是举世闻名的“珍珠港事件”。为了纪念这次事件,美国在海上建立了一座巨大的珍珠港阵亡将士纪念碑。

红杉树国家公园

位于加利福尼亚州西北部,占地15万平方千米。园内有世界上现存面积最大的红杉林。这里的红杉又称海岸红杉或加利福尼亚红杉,性喜潮湿,在沿海多雾、多雨地带成丛生长。树干呈玫瑰般的深红色,其高度一般为60~84米,树干直径通常为2.4~3.6米。红杉成材后,下面枝叶自行脱落,其上30米处开始形成华盖。园内最高的一株红杉树,高达l12米。整个红杉林巨木参天,郁郁苍苍。

彩色沙漠

位于亚利桑那州中北部,面积约1.9万平方千米,大部分地区为海拔1500米以上的沙漠荒野。由于温差极大(41℃~一30℃),设风化作用强烈,在光秃的崖壁上刻蚀出各种奇特的造型。由于空气干燥、雨水稀少,砂石的色泽没有受到化学变化的破坏,在阳光照耀下,形成世界上罕见的自然景观。加上热、光和沙尘的影响,使沙漠呈现出蓝色、紫水晶色、黄褐色、红色、淡绿色和灰色,五彩纷呈,十分奇特。当地印第安人就用这些彩色砂石做成工艺品向游人出售。

金门大桥

位于加利福尼亚州宽1966米的金门海峡之上,世界著名的悬浮式大桥,被誉为近代桥梁工程的一项奇迹。高342米的两座巨形钢塔耸立在大桥两侧,支撑着两根直径为0.93米的钢缆,大桥凭借这两根钢缆高悬于空中,钢塔之间的跨度为1280米,桥孔高6l米。大桥是由美国著名桥梁专家约瑟夫·斯特劳斯设计并主持建造的。

自由女神像

举世闻名的自由女神像,高高耸立在纽约港口的自由岛上,象征着美国人民争取自由的崇高理想。由19世纪后期法国雕刻家奥古斯特.巴托第创作。自由女神像高46米,是当时世界上最高的纪念性建筑,正式名称“照耀世界的自由女神”。女神头戴光芒四射的冠冕,身着古罗马长袍,右手高擎长达12米的火炬,左手紧抱一部象征《美国独立宣言》的书板,上面刻着《宣言》发表的日期“1776.7.4”字样。脚上残留被挣断了的锁链,象征暴政统治已被推翻。

波利尼西亚文化中心

位于夏威夷瓦胡岛北部莱伊附近,为保存波利尼西亚人的历史、文化传统而建。每个村庄陈设有各自民族特色的工艺品和服饰,通过村民的日常生活,反映他们原居住岛屿的文化传统与风土人情。在汤加村,可以看到美丽的少女表演制作桑皮服装的过程;在萨摩亚村,健壮的男表年给游客们表演如何采摘椰子;在夏威夷村,颈上带着夏威夷花环的妇女在缝制衣服,编结织品,展销手工艺品,姑娘们则手执花环,翩翩起舞,乘船沿河作游行表演。波利尼西亚文化中心被誉为一座展示民族文化的活的博物馆。

黄石国家公园

黄石国家公园开辟于1872年,是美国建立最早、规模最大的公园,它也是世界上最大的公园。黄石公园位于怀俄明、蒙大拿和爱达荷三州交界的地方,占地8956平方千米。因为从这里发源的黄石河两岸的峡壁呈现黄颜色,所以称它为黄石公园。

黄石公园最著名的就是被称为世界奇观的间歇喷泉,整个黄石公园内有300多处间歇喷泉,数量占全世界间歇喷泉的一半以上。其中的“诚实”喷泉平均每65分钟喷发一次,每次持续4~5分钟,80多年来,从未有过误差。“诚实”每次喷发时,滚烫的泉水从地面喷上40米高空,在寒冷的天气里,热水柱在空中遇冷凝成白色的云雾柱,场面颇为壮观。

拉什莫尔峰国家纪念碑

位于美国南达科他州西南部皮拉德城附近的拉什莫尔峰,为一巨型群雕石像。群雕像是在该峰1830米高的花岗岩上刻凿出来的,刻的是4位曾对美国独立和发展做出卓越贡献的总统:华盛顿、杰斐逊、罗斯福和林肯的头像。这些石雕头像高达18米,背倚蓝天,目光凝视前方,再现了4位总统生前的形象与风采,被认为是形神兼备的杰作。美国著名的画家和雕塑家格桑·博格伦是这组群雕的总设计师。这座纪念碑具有永久性的历史纪念意义和高度的艺术价值,为世界一大奇景。

You may also like...

United States Overview


Country Profile

The United States of America is located in central North America, covering an area of 9,372,600 square kilometers. It has a population of 288 million, with 84% white, with the remaining 16% black, Hispanic, Native Americans, and so on. Due to the vast diversity of ethnicities the U.S. has been called the world’s “ethnic melting pot.”Residents are Protestant or Catholic, with English the official language. The currency is the U.S. dollar, and the capital is Washington.

U.S. National Flag

The national flag of the United States is made up of stars and stripes. There are 13 horizontal strips of red and white, and in the top left hand corner is a blue rectangle which contains 50 white five-pointed stars divided into 9 rows. The 13 horizontal bars symbolize the original 13 U.S. states, with the 50 stars representing the current 50 states. Red represents strength, Congress, and courage, whilst white denotes purity and innocence. The blue of the rectangle represents vigilance, perseverance, and justice. The 4 June each year is celebrated as the nations Flag Day.

United States Country Flag

50 States of the Country

In the table below, you can see all the 50 states and capital city of Washington D.C. By clicking the link below, you will see lists of all counties, cities, and towns in each state.

History Summary

Originally inhabited by indigenous people, the Spanish, Dutch, French, and British later settled. In 1773 the British established a colony of 135 people. In 1775, the early colonial settlers rebelled and the War of Independence began. On July 4, 1776, independence was declared, which officially announced the establishment of the United States of America. In 1787 the country became a federal constitution. In 1776, after 100 years, the United States territory had expanded nearly 10-fold.

Economy and Culture Overview

The United States economy is reliant upon industry, agriculture, transportation, and science and technology, and is a highly developed world superpower. Steel, automobile, aircraft manufacturing and other sectors are strong, with these industries along with chemical, textiles, a food production being in the possession of large multinational companies. California’s “Silicon Valley” is a famous high-tech center, and a global leader in computer and software industries, as well as communication technology, laser technology, and biological engineering.

Agricultural is a major part of the economy, with the United States at the forefront of the world’s food, fruit, and livestock production. Its food exports accounts for 40% of the world’s agricultural trade, and it is the leading exporter of soybeans, corn, and wheat. It is also a major producer of. citrus fruit, and has a fully industrialized livestock production.

American society focuses on the individual, and personal interests are sacrosanct. However, certain topics are considered impolite in every conversation, including inquiring about a person’s age, marital status, income, religion, and political leanings.

Wall Street is the national and international financial nerve center. The New York Stock Exchange on Wall Street and Lord Street angle Department is the world’s largest stock and securities market. Six of the 0 largest banks are located here, as are many large brokerage firms.

Pearl Harbor

Pearl Harbor is a strategically important U.S. naval and air base, located on Oahu, one of the Hawaiian Islands. Pearl River is located in a narrow sea of two sticks of Road Department, for a depth of 10 to 15 meters harbor. At 7:55 on December 8, 1941, Japan dispatched 350 aircrafts and 55 warships and attacked Pearl Harbor. Almost all the main U.S. Pacific Fleet was destroyed, and the day is now infamous in American history. To commemorate this incident, the U.S. built a huge Pearl Harbor Memorial Monument.

Redwood National Park

Northwestern California covers an area of 150,000 square kilometers, and Redwood National Park contains some of the world’s largest trees. Also known as Coast Redwood Sequoia, the trees grow in the wet and foggy conditions along the coast.. The trunks are crimson in color, and generally stretch to heights of 60 to 84 meters. The average trunk diameter is usually between 2.4 to 3.6 meters. Red cedar lumber, the following branches and leaves fall off on their own, the last 30 meters began to form canopy. Park, a red cedar top, up to l12 meters. The Redwoods towering giant trees, lush.

Painted Desert

The Painted Desert is located in north-central Arizona, and covers an area of about 1.9 million square kilometers, reaching 1,500 meters above sea level in most parts. The area has a great diversity in temperature (41°C to a 30°C), and strong weather has eroded the bare cliffs into a variety of unusual shapes. As the air is dry, with water scarce, the color of the sand (not altered by chemical change), adorns one of the world’s rarest natural landscape. Heat, light, and dust make the desert a blue, amethyst color, with browns, reds, light greens, and grays also present. The local Indians made crafts using these colorful sands, which they sell to tourists.

Golden Gate Bridge

California’s Golden Gate suspension Bridge is a miracle of modern engineering, with a width of 1,966 meters and a height of 342 meters. At either end are two giant steel towers, which support the two 0.93 meter diameter steel cables which hang from the wire rope bridge. The steel that spans between towers is 1,280 meters in length, and the bridge opening is 6l meters high. The famous bridge was designed and built by the renowned American engineer Josef Strauss.

Statue of Liberty

The world-famous Statue of Liberty stands tall on Liberty Island in New York harbor, a symbol of the American people and the lofty ideal of freedom. Created by the French sculptor Auguste in the late 19th century, the Statue of Liberty is 46 meters high and is one of the world’s tallest monuments. Its official name is the Statue of Liberty Enlightening the World. Wearing the crown of a radiant goddess, the statue is dressed in ancient Roman robes, with the right hand holding up a 12 meter long torch. The left had clings to a symbol of the American Declaration of Independence, a book plate with the inscription “Declaration” and the date ” 1776.7.4 ” written. The feet are surrounded by broken chains, symbolizing that tyranny has been overthrown.

Polynesian Cultural Center

Ley is located in the north of Oahu, and preserves the history and tradition of the Polynesian culture. Each village has its own national characteristics displayed, with handicrafts and clothing available. The daily life of the villagers is reflected through the original residences and the island’s cultural traditions and customs. In the Tongan Village visitors can see beautiful girls making Mulberry clothing; in the Samoan village, robust men show visitors how to pick coconuts; in the Hawaiian Village the women wear garlands around their necks and sew clothes, knit fabric, and make arts and crafts. Girls armed with garlands dance whilst others row boats along the river as a form of parade. The Polynesian Cultural Centre is as a living museum, displaying the many different cultures.

Yellowstone National Park

In 1872, the United States established Yellowstone National Park, the first national park in the country, and the largest park in the world. The Park spans the three states of Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho, covering an area of 8,956 square kilometers. The name was chosen because the source of the Yellowstone River is found in the park.

Yellowstone National Park is famous for its more than 300 geysers, which account for more than half of the world’s geysers. The “Honest” fountain erupts every 65 minutes once every 4 or 5 minutes, and has never deviated from this pattern in over 80 years. With every eruption the hot spring water spray from the ground, reaching up to 40 meters height. In cold weather, when the water column encounters the air it condenses into a cloud of white columns, and the scene is quite spectacular.

Rushmore National Monument Peak

Rushmore National Monument Park is located in southwestern South Dakota, near the town of Rushmore. Pilade peak, a giant stone sculptures. The most famous sculptures is the 1,830 meter peak which bears the faces of four presidents, chiseled into the granite. The four presidents chosen – Washington, Jefferson, Roosevelt, and Lincoln – were selected due to their outstanding contributions to the development of independence Each stone head is about 18 meters high and is backed by the blue sky. The faces gaze ahead, and the monument is considered to be a masterpiece. The American painter and sculptor Kelsang Bogren was the chief architect on this sculpture. The monument commemorates the historical significance of the four presidents in a permanent and highly artistic way. The sculpture is arguable a great wonder of the world.

U.S. Airports by State Postal Codes by City
List of Alabama Airports List of Alabama Zip Codes
List of Alaska Airports List of Alaska Zip Codes
List of Arizona Airports List of Arizona Zip Codes
List of Arkansas Airports List of Arkansas Zip Codes
List of California Airports List of California Zip Codes
List of Colorado Airports List of Colorado Zip Codes
List of Connecticut Airports List of Connecticut Zip Codes
List of Delaware Airports List of Delaware Zip Codes
List of District of Columbia Airports List of District of Columbia Zip Codes
List of Florida Airports List of Florida Zip Codes
List of Georgia Airports List of Georgia Zip Codes
List of Hawaii Airports List of Hawaii Zip Codes
List of Idaho Airports List of Idaho Zip Codes
List of Illinois Airports List of Illinois Zip Codes
List of Indiana Airports List of Indiana Zip Codes
List of Iowa Airports List of Iowa Zip Codes
List of Kansas Airports List of Kansas Zip Codes
List of Kentucky Airports List of Kentucky Zip Codes
List of Louisiana Airports List of Louisiana Zip Codes
List of Maine Airports List of Maine Zip Codes
List of Maryland Airports List of Maryland Zip Codes
List of Massachusetts Airports List of Massachusetts Zip Codes
List of Michigan Airports List of Michigan Zip Codes
List of Minnesota Airports List of Minnesota Zip Codes
List of Mississippi Airports List of Mississippi Zip Codes
List of Missouri Airports List of Missouri Zip Codes
List of Montana Airports List of Montana Zip Codes
List of Nebraska Airports List of Nebraska Zip Codes
List of Nevada Airports List of Nevada Zip Codes
List of New Jersey Airports List of New Hampshire Zip Codes
List of New Mexico Airports List of New Jersey Zip Codes
List of New York Airports List of New Mexico Zip Codes
List of North Carolina Airports List of New York Zip Codes
List of North Dakota Airports List of North Carolina Zip Codes
List of Ohio Airports List of North Dakota Zip Codes
List of Oklahoma Airports List of Ohio Zip Codes
List of Oregon Airports List of Oklahoma Zip Codes
List of Pennsylvania Airports List of Oregon Zip Codes
List of Rhode Island Airports List of Pennsylvania Zip Codes
List of South Carolina Airports List of Rhode Island Zip Codes
List of South Dakota Airports List of South Carolina Zip Codes
List of Tennessee Airports List of South Dakota Zip Codes
List of Texas Airports List of Tennessee Zip Codes
List of Utah Airports List of Texas Zip Codes
List of Vermont Airports List of Utah Zip Codes
List of Virginia Airports List of Vermont Zip Codes
List of Washington Airports List of Virginia Zip Codes
List of West Virginia Airports List of Washington Zip Codes
List of Wisconsin Airports List of West Virginia Zip Codes
List of Wyoming Airports List of Wisconsin Zip Codes
List of Wyoming Zip Codes

United States Map

United States Map

U.S. Territories

You may also like...