Countries in Southern Africa

How Many Nations in Southern Africa

Located in south part of Africa, Southern Africa is composed of countries. Here is an alphabetical list of all countries in South Africa: Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland, and South Africa.

1. South Africa

South Africa National Flag
  • Capital: Pretoria (Executive), Bloemfontein (Judiciary), Cape Town (Legislative)
  • Area: 1,219,090 km 2
  • Languages: Afrikaans and English (plus eleven official languages)
  • Currency: Rand

2. Botswana

Botswana National Flag
  • Capital: Gaborone
  • Area: 581,730 km 2
  • Language: English
  • Currency: Pula

3. Lesotho

Lesotho National Flag
  • Capital: Maseru
  • Area: 30,360 km 2
  • Languages: English and Sessoto
  • Currency: Loti

4. Namibia

Namibia National Flag
  • Capital: Windhoek
  • Area: 824,290 km 2
  • Language: English
  • Currency: Namibian Dollar

5. Swaziland

Swaziland National Flag
  • Capital: Mbabane / Lobamba
  • Area: 17,630 km 2
  • Languages: English and Sussuati
  • Currency: Lilangeni

Countries in Southern Africa by Population and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are five independent countries in the Southern Africa. Among them, the largest country is South Africa and the smallest one is Swaziland in term of population. The full list of Southern African countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population.

Rank Country Population Land Area (km²) Capital
1 South Africa 57,725,600 1,214,470 Pretoria, Cape Town, Bloemfontein
2 Namibia 2,458,936 823,290 Windhoek
3 Botswana 2,338,851 566,730 Gaborone
4 Lesotho 2,007,201 30,355 Maseru
5 Swaziland 1,367,254 6704 Mbabane

Map of South African Countries

Map of South African Countries

You may also like...