Countries in Southern Europe

Southern Europe, also known as The Mediterranean Europe, includes countries located in the south of the European continent, such as Portugal (which, although not bathed by the Mediterranean Sea, presents the Characteristics of the countries bathed in this country) and by the Mediterranean Sea countries: Spain, Italy, Greece and Turkey, in addition to several small countries like Vatican, San Marino, Monaco, Republic of Malta and Andorra. Also included here are the archipelago of the Azores, the archipelago of Madeira and the Canary Islands.

The South Europe has the following characteristics:

  • Cradle of many of the Great Western inventions.
  • Cradle of civility and western intellectuality.
  • Birthplace of much of the culture, classical music, Western Arts and philosophy.
  • Birthplace of numerous moral rules of Western civilization.
  • Mainly subtropical or Mediterranean climate with warm summers and mild winters.

The economic characteristics of Southern Europe are:

  • Relatively strong presence of agriculture (compared to the almost absence in Northern Europe), but that is not So common in northern Spain and that is almost non-Existent in the center and northern Italy.
  • Strong Tourism presence.
  • Low levels of economic development and per capita income in some countries (compared to the generality Of other countries in Europe, particularly Western and Nordic Europe ), with exception of the northern Regions of Spain and Italy and The Central and northern coast of Portugal.

How Many Countries in Southern Europe

As a region of Europe, Southern Europe is composed of 16 independent countries (Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Holy See, Italy, Malta, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey) and 1 territory (Gibraltar). See below for the list of South European countries and dependencies by population.  Also, you can find all of them in alphabetical order at this end of this page.

List of Countries in Southern Europe and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are 3 independent countries in the Southern Europe. Among them, the largest country is Turkey and the smallest is Holy See. The full list of Southern European countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population.

Rank Independent Country Current Population Capital
1 Turkey 82,003,882 Ankara
2 Italy 60,375,749 Rome
3 Spain 46,733,038 Madrid
4 Greece 10,741,165 Athens
5 Portugal 10,276,617 Lisbon
6 Serbia 7,001,444 Belgrade
7 Croatia 4,130,304 Zagreb
8 Bosnia and Herzegovina 3,301,000 Sarajevo
9 Albania 2,862,427 Tirana
10 Slovenia 2,080,908 Ljubljana
11 North Macedonia 2,075,301 Skopje
12 Montenegro 622,359 Podgorica
13 Malta 475,701 Valletta
14 Andorra 76,177 Andorra la Vella
15 San Marino 33,422 San Marino
16 Holy See 799 Vatican City

Territories in Southern Europe

Dependent Territory Population Territory of
Gibraltar 33,701 U.K.

Map of Countries in Southern Europe

Map of Countries in Southern Europe


Alphabetical List of Countries and Dependencies in Southern Europe

In summary, there are a total of 17 independent countries and dependent territories in Southern Europe. See the following for full list of Southern European countries and dependencies in alphabetical order:

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  4. Croatia
  5. Gibraltar (U.K.)
  6. Greece
  7. Holy See
  8. Italy
  9. Malta
  10. Montenegro
  11. North Macedonia
  12. Portugal
  13. San Marino
  14. Serbia
  15. Slovenia
  16. Spain
  17. Turkey

You may also like...