List of Countries in North America

As a subcontinent of the Americas, North America is located within Western Hemisphere and Northern Hemisphere. Being the third largest continent after Asia and Africa, the North America continent has an area of 24,709,000 km2, accounting for 16.5% of world’s total land area. With population of 579,024,000, the continent contributes to 7.5% of the world’s population.

How Many Countries in North America

As of 2020, there are a total of 24 countries in North America. Among them, Canada is the largest country by area and United States is the biggest one by population. By contrast, the smallest country in North American continent is Saint Kitts and Nevis, composed by two small islands.

The most common languages are English and Spanish, while many other languages are also spoken, including French, Dutch, and Indian languages. Residents are primarily Protestant or Catholic.

List of All North American Countries

See the following for full list of twenty-four northern American countries in alphabetical order:

# Country Official Name Independence Date
1 Antigua and Barbuda Antigua and Barbuda November 1, 1981
2 Bahamas Commonwealth of the Bahamas July 10, 1973
3 Barbados Barbados November 30, 1966
4 Belize Belize September 21, 1981
5 Bermuda Bermuda
6 Canada Canada July 1, 1867
7 Costa Rica Republic of Costa Rica September 15, 1821
8 Cuba Republic of Cuba January 1, 1959
9 Dominica Commonwealth of Dominica November 3, 1978
10 Dominican Republic Dominican Republic February 27, 1821
11 El Salvador Republic of El Salvador September 15, 1821
12 Grenada Grenada February 7, 1974
13 Guatemala Republic of Guatemala September 15, 1821
14 Haiti Republic of Haiti January 1, 1804
15 Honduras Republic of Honduras September 15, 1821
16 Jamaica Jamaica August 6, 1962
17 Mexico United Mexican States September 16, 1810
18 Nicaragua Republic of Nicaragua September 15, 1821
19 Panama Republic of Panama November 28, 1821
20 St. Kitts and Nevis Saint Kitts and Nevis September 19, 1983
21 St. Lucia Saint Lucia February 22, 1979
22 St. Vincent and The Grenadines Saint Vincent and The Grenadines October 27, 1979
23 Trinidad and Tobago Republic of Trinidad and Tobago August 31, 1962
24 United States United States of America July 4, 1776

Location Map of North America

Map of North American Countries

Biggest Countries in North America and Profiles


  • Capital: Ottawa
  • Area: 9,984,670 km²
  • Languages: English and French
  • Currency: Canadian Dollar

The Canada consists of 10 provinces – Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan and three territories – the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon.

United States of America

  • Capital: Washington, DC
  • Area: 9,831,510 km²
  • Language: English
  • Currency: US Dollar

The United States has 50 states, which are represented on the existing fifty stars of that nation’s flag.

They are: Alabama, Alaska, Arcansas, Arizona, California, Cansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Colorado, Conecticute, North Dakota, South Dakota, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Rhodes Island, Illinois , Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee , Texas, Utah, Vermonte, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington, Wiscosin and Wyoming.


  • Capital: Nuuk
  • Area: 2,166,086 km²
  • Language: Greenlandic
  • Currency: Danish Krone

The Greenland is divided into three counties: West Greenland, Greenland Oridental and northern Greenland.


  • Capital: Mexico City
  • Territorial extension: 1,964,380 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Mexican Peso

The Mexico is divided into 31 states: Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Chiapas, Chiuaua, Coahuila, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Mexico State, Michoacán de Ocampo, Morelos, Nayarit, New Lion, Oaxaca, Povoa, Arteaga Queretaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatan and Zaratecas.

You may also like...