Dominica Overview

Country Profile

Dominica is located in the Caribbean, in the northeast Antilles. An area of 751 square kilometers is home to 7 l million people, most of whom are blacks or mulatto. Most are Catholic, with English the official language. The currency is the East Caribbean dollar and the capital is Roseau.

Dominica National Flag

Dominica’s flag contains a green backdrop with a cross comprised of yellow, black, and white, in the center of which is a red circle containing 10 yellow five-pointed stars and the profile of a parrot. The cross represents the nations’ Catholic beliefs, and the stars stand for the country’s 10 dioceses.

Dominica Country Flag

History Summary

Arawak Indians originally inhabited the Caribbean islands. In 1493, Columbus discovered Dominica. In 1763, the Treaty of Paris placed the island under the British, although it was later occupied twice by the French. In 1805, the French occupiers set fire to Roseau. Britain paid £1.2 ransom money, and again officially occupied the island. On November 3, 1978, Dominica declared independence and became a member of the Commonwealth.

Dominica Map

Dominica Map

You may also like...