Countries in Central Asia

Central Asia, as its name implies, is located in the center of the Asian continent, between the Caspian Sea, China, northern Iran and southern Siberia. The region comprises the area of ​​countries, such as Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and others.

How Many Countries in Central Asia

As a region of Asia, Central Asia is composed of independent countries (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan). See below for the full list of Central Asian Countries by population.

1. Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan National Flag
  • Capital: Astana
  • Area: 2,724,900 km²
  • Language: Kazakh
  • Currency: Tenge

2. Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan National Flag
  • Capital: Bishkek
  • Area: 199,949 km²
  • Language: Kyrgyz
  • Currency: Sound

3. Tajikistan

Tajikistan National Flag
  • Capital: Dushanbe
  • Area: 142,550 km²
  • Language: Tajik
  • Currency: Somonil

4. Turkmenistan

Turkmenistan National Flag
  • Capital: Ashgabat
  • Area: 488,100 km²
  • Language: Turkmen
  • Currency: Turkmen manat

5. Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan National Flag
  • Capital: Tashkent
  • Area: 447,400 km²
  • Language: Uzbek
  • Currency: Uzbek Sound

List of Countries in Central Asia and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are five independent countries in the Middle Asia. Among them, the largest country is Uzbekistan and the smallest is Turkmenistan in term of population. The full list of Central Asia countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population and area.

Rank Country Name Population Land Area (km²) Capital
1 Uzbekistan 33,562,133 425,400 Tashkent
2 Kazakhstan 18,497,064 2,699,700 Astana
3 Tajikistan 8,931,000 141,510 Dushanbe
4 Kyrgyzstan 6,389,500 191,801 Bishkek
5 Turkmenistan 5,942,089 469,930 Ashgabat

Map of Middle Asian Countries

Map of Middle Asian Countries


You may also like...