List of Countries in European Union

As an economic and political union, the European Union is composed of 28 member nations. Except Cyprus which is located in Western Asia, all members are from Europe. Abbreviated for EU, the European Union has a population of 512,497,877 and an area of 4,475,757 km2. Not yet a federation, the Union has grown into a single market where 19 members use the same currency – EURO. The following table presents a full list of EU countries ranked by latest total population. You can find specific accession date for each member and non-EURO currencies that are still used in other 9 member states. Also, It comprises 23 official languages ​​and about 150 regional languages. Please note that, the number of member countries may be increasing in near future.

How Many Countries in European Union

The following table lists all 28 member countries of European Union. The candidate countries for EU membership are: Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey. The potential candidate countries are Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo. Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein are not members of the European Union, but participate in the single market except the customs union.

List of All EU Countries

Check the following table to see the list of all countries in European Union by population.

Rank Country Population Date of Accession Currency Region
1 Germany 83,517,045 1957/3/25 EURO Western Europe
2 United Kingdom 67,530,172 1973/1/1 British pound Northern Europe
3 France 65,129,728 1957/3/25 EURO Western Europe
4 Italy 60,550,075 1957/3/25 EURO Southern Europe
5 Spain 46,736,776 1986/1/1 EURO Southern Europe
6 Poland 37,887,768 2004/5/1 Polish złoty Eastern Europe
7 Romania 19,364,557 2007/1/1 Romanian leu Eastern Europe
8 Netherlands 17,097,130 1957/3/25 EURO Western Europe
9 Belgium 11,539,328 1957/3/25 EURO Western Europe
10 Czech Republic 10,689,209 2004/5/1 Czech koruna Eastern Europe
11 Greece 10,473,455 1981/1/1 EURO Southern Europe
12 Portugal 10,226,187 1986/1/1 EURO Southern Europe
13 Sweden 10,036,379 1995/1/1 Swedish krona Northern Europe
14 Hungary 9,684,679 2004/5/1 Hungarian forint Eastern Europe
15 Austria 8,955,102 1995/1/1 EURO Western Europe
16 Bulgaria 7,000,119 2007/1/1 Bulgarian lev Eastern Europe
17 Denmark 5,771,876 1973/1/1 Danish krone Northern Europe
18 Finland 5,532,156 1995/1/1 EURO Northern Europe
19 Slovakia 5,457,013 2004/5/1 EURO Eastern Europe
20 Ireland 4,882,495 1973/1/1 EURO Northern Europe
21 Croatia 4,130,304 2013/7/1 Croatian kuna Southern Europe
22 Lithuania 2,759,627 2004/5/1 EURO Northern Europe
23 Slovenia 2,078,654 2004/5/1 EURO Southern Europe
24 Latvia 1,906,743 2004/5/1 EURO Northern Europe
25 Estonia 1,325,648 2004/5/1 EURO Northern Europe
26 Cyprus 1,179,551 2004/5/1 EURO Western Asia
27 Luxembourg 615,729 1957/3/25 EURO Western Europe
28 Malta 440,372 2004/5/1 EURO Southern Europe

Map of EU Countries

Currently, the European Union has seven financial, political, control and legislation institutions:

  • European Parliament
  • Council of the European Union
  • European Commission
  • European Council
  • European central bank
  • Court of Justice of the European Union
  • European Court of Auditors

European Union goals

  • Development of an European financial market
  • Economic and social development of countries
  • Customs union between member countries
  • Political and Economic Unity among member countries
  • Free movement of persons, goods and goods
  • Increasing the quality of life, health and work of European citizens
  • Reduce social and economic inequalities

EU History: Summary

The European Union, as we know it today, has gone through several stages and successive unions. Overall, the main objective of this narrowing was to strengthen European countries in order to create a common market, reduce costs and boost the economy.

Firstly, the creation of the ECSC (European Coal and Steel Community) was established in 1952. This was composed of Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France and Italy, called the “Europe of the Six”.

In 1957, the European Common Market (ECM) or European Economic Community (EEC) was created. He joined some other countries: England (1973), Ireland (1973), Denmark (1973), Greece (1981), Spain (1986), Portugal (1986) called “Europe of the Twelve”. It is noteworthy that with the creation of the European Common Market, the free movement of people between the member countries was allowed.

In 1991, the Maastricht Treaty established the economic strengthening of these countries through the creation of a single currency, the Euro. However, it was not until 2002 that the Euro was put into circulation. However, some countries, such as England and Denmark, have preferred to keep their national currencies.

In 1995, three more countries joined the European Union (Sweden, Finland and Austria), thus forming the so-called “Europe of the 15”.

In 2004, ten countries joined the bloc, namely: Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the islands of Malta and Cyprus. The so-called “Europe of 27″ is formed with the integration of Bulgaria and Romania in 2007. Finally, the last country to sign the EU membership agreement was Croatia on 30 June 2013.

In 2016, the United Kingdom showed its interest in leaving the European Union. In June of that year there was a referendum where 51% of people voted in favor of the exit.

This action was called ” Brexit “, a term that arose by joining the words “Britain” and “exit”.

Facts about European Union

  • European Union Day is celebrated on May 9th.
  • The so-called “Eurozone” corresponds to the 17 EU member states that adopted the EURO currency, with Estonia being the last country to adopt the currency in 2011.
  • The estimated European population is 500 million people, which corresponds to 7% of the world population.
  • Some researchers believe that the formation of the European Union begins with the creation of the Benelux bloc (Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg) during World War II, whose main objective was to form a common market by reducing customs tariffs among member countries.
  • The European Union participates in important meeting forums such as the G7 – Group of Seven, G8 (G7 + Russia) and G20.

You may also like...