Countries in Eastern Asia

How Many Countries in Eastern Asia

As a region of Asia, Eastern Asia is composed of independent countries (China, Japan, Mongolia, North Korea, and South Korea). See below for the full list of Eastern Asian Countries by population.

List of Countries in Eastern Asia and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are five independent countries in the East Asia. Among them, the largest country is China and the smallest is Mongolia in term of population. The full list of Eastern Asia countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population and area.

Rank Country Name Population Land Area (km²) Capital
1 China 1,397,850,000 9,326,410 Beijing
2 Japan 126,200,000 364,543 Tokyo
3 South Korea 51,811,167 99,909 Seoul
4 North Korea 25,450,000 120,538 Pyongyang
5 Mongolia 3,263,387 1,553,556 Ulaanbaatar

Map of Eastern Asian Countries

Map of Eastern Asian Countries

You may also like...