Countries in Western Europe

Western Europe or West European Is a part of Europe whose boundaries depend on the definition. These borders, however, are subject to considerable fluctuations and overlaps, which makes it difficult to differentiate them. The concept of Western Europe is also associated with the notion of Western world.

Before World War II and The Cold War, the terms “Western Europe” were widely used to designate the parts of Europe that had Catholic or Protestant roots, that is the areas occupied by Andorra, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland and the Vatican. It was in these countries that Western cultures were born and flourished, eventually spreading throughout the world.

During the Cold War, when Western Europe designated NATO member countries and under North American influence, the term was often used As counterpoint to Eastern European, which was under the influence Soviet Union. The borders between the western and eastern countries were well defended and patrolled, especially on the eastern side. These borders also gave the name of the Iron curtain.

Until recently, we could safely say that Western Europe corresponded to the countries of the European Union, adding Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Norway, San Marino, Monaco and the Vatican.

According to the United Nations organization, using the criterion of division by Geographic regions, Western Europe would now understand Germany, Austria, Belgium, France, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands and Switzerland. For UNESCO, according to historical-socio-cultural criteria, Western Europe would understand the current territories of Germany, Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal, United Kingdom, San Marino, Sweden and Switzerland.

It should be noted that, except for the eastern part of Germany (which was reunified in 1990), by any of the 2 criteria (as can be seen in the next maps), are excluded from the present concept of Western Europe all countries which, as agreed in The Conference of Yalta, fell into the Soviet zone of influence, being ruled by communist regimes during the cold war, including those that were then part of the non-aligned Yugoslavian.

How Many Countries in Western Europe

As a region of Europe, Western Europe is composed of independent countries (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Switzerland) and 2 territories (Guernsey, Jersey). See below for the list of West European countries and dependencies by population.  Also, you can find all of them in alphabetical order at this end of this page.

List of Countries in Western Europe and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are 3 independent countries in the Western Europe. Among them, the largest country is Germany and the smallest is Monaco. The full list of Western European countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population.

Rank Independent Country Current Population Capital
1 Germany 82,979,100 Berlin
2 France 66,998,000 Paris
3 Netherlands 17,325,700 Amsterdam
4 Belgium 11,467,362 Brussels
5 Austria 8,869,537 Vienna
6 Switzerland 8,542,323 Bern
7 Luxembourg 613,894 Luxembourg
8 Liechtenstein 38,380 Vaduz
9 Monaco 38,300 Monaco

Territories in Western Europe

Rank Dependent Territory Population Territory of
1 Jersey 105,500 U.K.
2 Guernsey 62,063 U.K.

Map of Countries in Western Europe

Map of Countries in Western Europe

You may also like...