Liechtenstein Overview

Country Profile

Liechtenstein is a landlocked country in Europe, all known as the Principality of Liechtenstein. Country name in German means “shining stone” because the city made of white marble building with light materials named. An area of 160 square kilometers. Population of 34,000. One of Europe’s four major pocket. Catholic primary state religion, official language is German. Money for the Swiss franc, the capital of Liechtenstein (Vaduz).

Liechtenstein National Flag

From the top down, the flag is composed of two parallel blue and red rectangles with, in the right-hand corner, a yellow crown. Blue represents the sky and red symbolizes fire. The crown is the crown of the Holy Roman Empire.

Liechtenstein Country Flag

History Summary

On January 23, 1719, the head of the founding family was the Prince of Liechtenstein. As a sovereign state, in 1815 it joined the “German Union.” In 1852, Austria and Hungary signed a customs treaty in 1919 with the termination of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. In 1923, it signed a customs treaty with Switzerland. During the two World Wars, Liechtenstein remained neutral.

Economy and Culture Overview

Industry is a pillar of the national economy, with 95% of its industrial products for export. Liechtenstein has high living standards, social welfare is perfect and it is one of the world’s richest countries. The industry is very famous for dentures and technological products such as the neutron microscope and high vacuum equipment for small precision instruments. Liechtenstein is famous in the world of stamps. Commemorative stamps are mostly carved printing because this is an important source of state finance. Liechtenstein has no army, so its international affairs are managed by the Swiss agency.

Liechtenstein Map

Liechtenstein Map

You may also like...