List of All Countries in Caribbean

The Caribbean Sea or Antilles Sea is an open or coastal sea that is located between Central and South America. The term associated with Caribbean Sea is related to the Indians who inhabited the region before European colonization. Located below the Gulf of Mexico, it receives water from the Atlantic Ocean (east) and is connected with the Pacific Ocean (west) through the Panama Canal.

The Caribbean is not a continent, but a region of the American continent formed by the Caribbean Sea, islands and island countries. It is also called the West Indies or Antilles, name originated by the initial European belief that the American continent was India (the term “western” was later added to distinguish them from the “true” Indian region). People born on the Caribbean islands are called Caribbean.

Map of All Countries in Caribbean

Map of Caribbean Countries

Alphabetical List of Caribbean Countries

As of 2019, there are a total of 15 countries in Caribbean. See the following for full list of Caribbean countries in alphabetical order:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Aruba
  3. Bahamas
  4. Barbados
  5. Cayman Islands
  6. Cuba
  7. Dominica
  8. Dominican Republic
  9. Grenada
  10. Haiti
  11. Jamaica
  12. St. Kitts and Nevis
  13. St. Lucia
  14. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  15. Trinidad and Tobago

Caribbean Sea

The countries bordering the Caribbean Sea are called the Greater Antilles and Lesser Antilles respectively:

Greater Antilles

  • Cuba
  • Haiti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Puerto Rico

Little Antilles

  • Jamaica
  • Belize
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Saint Lucia
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Grenade
  • Barbados
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Costa Rica
  • Panama
  • Colombia
  • Venezuela

The Antilles Sea has an area of ​​approximately 2.7 million km2 . With a maximum depth of approximately 7,685 meters, the deepest point is the Cayman Islands trench between Cuba and Haiti, which is located at 7,686 meters below sea level. Located between the Caribbean Plate and the South American Plate, the region mainly of the Lesser Antilles, presents intense seismic volcanic activity with strong tropical storms and hurricanes. The sea is influenced by the Gulf and Humbolt sea currents.

The place has great biodiversity and tropical climate, with high temperatures during most of the year. The average temperature of its waters is 28 ° C. This factor has attracted a range of tourists who visit the place annually. In this way, it is one of the places of the world that presents great tourist activity, since it brings together beautiful beaches of white sand and a blue and green sea. In addition to intense tourist activity, fishing and agriculture on the site are very representative.

Caribbean Islands

The Caribbean Sea has a wide range of islands, the major ones of which are:

  • Aruba
  • Curacao
  • Bononaire
  • Providence
  • Cayman Islands
  • Leeward Islands
  • Virgin Islands
  • Saona Island
  • Beata Island
  • Turtle Island
  • Turneffe Islands

Why is the Caribbean Sea so blue?

The waters of the Caribbean Sea are turquoise due to their clarity and the clear coloration of their sands. According to physics, when sunlight hits the water it is reflected and part of it penetrates the water interacting with its molecules.

This factor is also influenced by the microorganisms present in the sea, so in some places it becomes greenish when it comes in contact with the yellow colored organic matter, ie the mixture of blue with yellow.

You may also like...