List of Countries in Oceania and Australia

Oceania is the smallest continent in the world. Located in the southern hemisphere, it consists of Australia and the Pacific Islands (Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia). In operational terms, we seek to divide the planet into continental clusters and, therefore, all islands are associated with the continent of Australia or Australasia. Oceania is the largest island cluster on the planet, with over 10,000 islands and 14 countries.

List of All Countries in Oceania by Population

As mentioned above, there are 14 independent countries in Oceania. Among them, the most populous country is Australia and the least is Nauru. The full list of countries in Oceania is shown in the table below, with latest total population.

All the islands of Oceania have a population of indigenous people. However, European whites in Australia and New Zealand constitute to the majority of the inhabitants, especially of British origin. With a population of about 32 million, Oceania is a predominantly urban region. While 75% of the population lives in cities, 25% of oceanic people live in the countryside. For Australia and New Zealand, 85% of the population lives in urban areas, while on the islands most people live in rural areas.

Rank Flag Independent Country Current Population Subregion
1 Australia Flag Australia 25,399,311 Australasia
2 Papua New Guinea Flag Papua New Guinea 8,558,811 Melanesia
3 New Zealand Flag New Zealand 4,968,541 Polynesia
4 Fiji Flag Fiji 884,898 Melanesia
5 Solomon Islands Flag Solomon Islands 680,817 Melanesia
6 Vanuatu Flag Vanuatu 304,511 Melanesia
7 Samoa Flag Samoa 200,885 Polynesia
8 Kiribati Flag Kiribati 120,111 Micronesia
9 Micronesia Flag Federated States of Micronesia 105,311 Micronesia
10 Tonga Flag Tonga 100,311 Polynesia
11 Marshall Islands Flag Marshall Islands 55,511 Micronesia
12 Palau Flag Palau 17,911 Micronesia
13 Nauru Flag Nauru 11,011 Micronesia
14 Tuvalu Flag Tuvalu 10,211 Polynesia

Territories in Oceania by Population

The list of all 11 territories is shown in the table below, with latest total population and dependencies.

Rank Dependent Territory Current Population Territory of
1 New Caledonia 282,211 France
2 French Polynesia 275,929 France
3 Guam 172,411 United States
4 American Samoa 56,711 United States
5 Northern Mariana Islands 56,211 United States
6 Cook Islands 15,211 New Zealand
7 Wallis and Futuna 11,711 France
8 Norfolk Island 1,767 Australia
9 Niue 1,531 New Zealand
10 Tokelau 1,411 New Zealand
11 Pitcairn Islands 51 United Kingdom

Map of Regions and Countries in Australia

Map of Oceania Countries

Oceania Countries by Area

Oceania has an area of 8,480,355 km², with a varying demographic density: Australia 2.2 residents/km²; Papua New Guinea 7.7 residents/km²; Nauru 380 ha /km²; Tonga 163 residents/km² and the territory of Australia correspond to the largest portion of Oceania, with about 90% of the continent. Oceania’s largest cities are located in Australia and they are Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth. Other major cities are Auckland and Wellington in New Zealand, and Port Moresby, the capital of Papua New Guinea.

Below is a list of all the Oceania countries, in order of land area size. Australia is the biggest country while Nauru is the smallest one.

Ranking Country Name Land Area (km²)
1 Australia 7,692,024
2 Papua New Guinea 462,840
3 New Zealand 270,467
4 Solomon Islands 28,896
5 Fiji 18,274
6 Vanuatu 12,189
7 Samoa 2,831
8 Kiribati 811
9 Tonga 747
10 Micronesia 702
11 Palau 459
12 Marshall Islands 181
13 Tuvalu 26
14 Nauru 21

Alphabetical List of Countries and Dependencies in Oceania

In summary, there are a total of 25 independent countries and dependent territories in Oceania. See the following for full list of countries and dependencies of Australia in alphabetical order:

  1. American Samoa (United States)
  2. Australia
  3. Cook Islands (New Zealand)
  4. Fiji
  5. French Polynesia (France)
  6. Guam (United States)
  7. Kiribati
  8. Marshall Islands
  9. Micronesia
  10. Nauru
  11. New Caledonia (France)
  12. New Zealand
  13. Niue (New Zealand)
  14. Norfolk Island (Australia)
  15. Northern Mariana Islands (United States)
  16. Palau
  17. Papua New Guinea
  18. Pitcairn Islands (United Kingdom)
  19. Samoa
  20. Solomon Islands
  21. Tokelau (New Zealand)
  22. Tonga
  23. Tuvalu
  24. Vanuatu
  25. Wallis and Futuna (France)

Oceania Economy

The most developed countries (Australia and New Zealand) stand out for manufacturing industrialized products and high technology. In the islands is practiced the extractivism and the agriculture, as well as the tourism.

Fauna, Vegetation and Climate

The fauna of Oceania has many animals, however, its isolated position led to the emergence of some exotic species found only in that region. Of these, the kangaroos stand out.

Other typical Oceanian animals are: koala, dingo, cockatoo, Tasmanian devil, platypus, kiwi, black swan, sea elephant, kaluta and kowari.

Its flora is predominantly composed of tropical forests, which coexist with the desert climate in the interior of Australia and tropical climate on the islands.

Oceania Culture

In Oceania, English is the most widely spoken language, but this is not the only language on the continent. There is also room for French language and for native dialects.

In religious terms, Christianity predominates, being led by 27% Catholics and 24% Protestants.

Due to the heat, it is customary to wear light and comfortable clothes.

Typical Maori tattoos are known worldwide and originate with the indigenous peoples of New Zealand. To the Indians, mokas – as they are called – have a sacred character.

Colonization and History of Oceania

Called the New World, Oceania was the last continent to be found by Europeans.

The term Oceania is used in several languages ​​to denote a continent that spans Australia and adjoining Pacific Islands. The word is formed by the junction of “ocean” plus the suffix “ia”, such as toponyms such as Germania and Transylvania.

The first massive wave of emigrants only took place around 6000 BC with the arrival of Austrians from Taiwan. They spread throughout the Philippines and East Indies until they reached New Guinea.

Already in the modern period, the British annexed Australia to their domains in 1770, when they inhabited some 300,000 natives. Subdivided into approximately 600 tribes, which were in a very early cultural stage, this facilitated the domination of the English.

In the eighteenth century the occupation was done by prisoners and exiles, as well as the establishment of a small number of settlers. They devoted themselves to the development of livestock, one of the main activities to this day.

In addition to livestock (especially sheep), successful wheat production had developed.

As a result of this domain, the indigenous population decays. The British impose their culture and lifestyles, making the natives the minority on the continent.

Facts about Oceania

  • Oceania is the smallest continent in the world and also the youngest.
  • Despite being made up of over 10,000 islands and 14 countries, Australia alone occupies 90% of its territory.
  • Australia is not bordered by any other country.

You may also like...