Papua New Guinea Flag and Meaning

Flag of Papua New Guinea

Flag of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea Flag Meaning

Red and black are a link to the colors used by the German Empire, reminiscent of the time when Papua New Guinea was a German colony. There are also classic colors in the local arts and crafts. The bird of paradise has been a symbol of the nation for a long time. The five white stars stand for the constellation Southern Cross, but can also be interpreted as a well-known legend about five sisters.

Only before their independence was a tricolor designed in blue, yellow and green with the constellation and the bird of paradise. The proposal became unpopular and their current flag was a proposal from 15-year-old Susan Karike. The flag was adopted on July 1, 1971.

Papua New Guinea Overview

Population 4.8 million
Currency China
Area 462,840 km2
Capital city Port Moresby
Population density 10.3 residents/km2
HDI location 137

Papua New Guinea is located east of Indonesia, immediately south of the equator. The country forms the eastern part of the island of New Guinea as well as a number of smaller islands: New Britain, New Ireland, the island of Manus in the Bismarck archipelago, Bougainville, Buka, Nissau located in the northern part of the Solomon Islands, Luisiada and Entrecasteaux archipelago as well as the islands of Trobriand and Woodlark southeast of New Guinea. The western part of the island of New Guinea is the Indonesian province of Irian Jaya. The country is of volcanic origin and is mountainous – apart from the flatter coastal areas. The land is in some areas subject to considerable deforestation.

The people: Papuas 84%; melanesians 15%.

Religion: Protestants (58.4%); Catholics (32.8%); Anglicans (5.4%); traditional local religions (2.5%); Baha’i (0.6%); others (0.3%).

Languages: English (official); pidgin (local dialect derived from English) and over 700 local languages

Political parties: People’s Democratic Movement (PDM); Pangu Pati (PP); Popular Action Party (PAP); Popular Progress Party (PPP)

Official Name: Independent State of Papua New Guinea.

Administrative division: 20 provinces

Capital: Port Moresby, 308,000 in (2009).

Other important cities: Low 112,400 residents; Madang, 33,900 residents; Wewak, 27,400 residents; Goroka, 17,900 residents (2000)

Government: Queen Elisabeth II is the country’s head of state. She has been represented by Governor Bob Dadae since February 2017. Peter O’Neill has been the country’s prime minister and head of government since August 2012. Parliament has one chamber with 111 members.

National Day: September 16 (Independence, 1975)

Armed Forces: 3,700 Soldiers (1996)

You may also like...