Countries in Southeast Asia

How Many Countries in Southeastern Asia

As a region of Asia, Southeastern Asia is composed of 11 independent countries (Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and Vietnam). See below for the full list of Southeastern Asian Countries by population.

List of Countries in Southeastern Asia and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are eleven independent countries in the Southeast Asia. Among them, the largest country is Indonesia and the smallest is Brunei in term of population. The full list of Southeastern Asia countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population and area.

Rank Country Name Population Land Area (km²) Capital
1 Indonesia 268,074,600 1,811,569 Jakarta
2 Philippines 107,808,000 298,170 Manila
3 Vietnam 95,354,000 310,070 Hanoi
4 Thailand 66,377,005 510,890 Bangkok
5 Burma 54,339,766 653,508 Rangoon, Naypyidaw or Nay Pyi Taw
6 Malaysia 32,769,200 329,613 Kuala Lumpur
7 Cambodia 16,289,270 176,515 Phnom Penh
8 Laos 7,123,205 230,800 Vientiane
9 Singapore 5,638,700 687 Singapore
10 Timor-Leste 1,387,149 14,919 Dili
11 Brunei 442,400 5,265 Bandar Seri Begawan

Map of Southeastern Asian Countries

Map of Southeastern Asian Countries


You may also like...