List of Countries in South America

How many countries in South America?

As of 2020, there are 12 countries in South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela. French Guiana is an overseas territory of France and not an independent country. In this American subcontinent where the predominant language is Spanish, Portuguese is only spoken in Brazil. This country is the most populous with approximately 210 million residents. Brazil is followed by Argentina, with population of approximate 41 million.

With 12 nations, the South America has a population of 422.5 million in total, accounting for 5.8% of the world’s population. The residents in South America are made up of Indians, Whites and people of mixed race. The continent has a land area of 17,850,000 square kilometers, accounting for about 12% of the world’s land area. As mentioned above, Spanish is the most spoken language and residents are primarily Christian.

South America tourism becomes more and more populous. Top destinations include Amazonia (Ecuador), Machu Picchu (Peru), Angel Falls (Venezuela), Torres del Paine (Chile), and Salar de Uyuni (Bolivia).

Alphabetical List of South American Countries

As of 2020, there are a total of twelve countries in South America. See the following table for full list of Southern American countries in alphabetical order:

# Flag Country Official Name Independence Date Population
1 Argentina Flag Argentina Argentine Republic July 9, 1816 45,195,785
2 Bolivia Flag Bolivia Plurinational State of Bolivia August 6, 1825 11,673,032
3 Brazil Flag Brazil Federative Republic of Brazil September 7, 1822 212,559,428
4 Chile Flag Chile Republic of Chile February 12, 1818 19,116,212
5 Colombia Flag Colombia Republic of Colombia July 20, 1810 50,882,902
6 Ecuador Flag Ecuador Republic of Ecuador May 24, 1822 17,643,065
7 Guyana Flag Guyana Republic of Guyana May 26, 1966 786,563
8 Paraguay Flag Paraguay Republic of Paraguay May 15, 1811 7,132,549
9 Peru Flag Peru Republic of Peru July 28, 1821 32,971,865
10 Suriname Flag Suriname Republic of Suriname November 25, 1975 586,643
11 Uruguay Flag Uruguay Eastern Republic of Uruguay August 25, 1825 3,473,741
12 Venezuela Flag Venezuela Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela July 5, 1811 28,435,951

Location Map of South America

Map of Countries in South America

Countries bordering Atlantic and Pacific Ocean

South America is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. The countries bordering the Atlantic Ocean are: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana. And, the countries bordering the Pacific Ocean are: Chile, Peru, Ecuador and Colombia. Bolivia and Paraguay are the only countries that are not bathed by any ocean.

Country Facts and State Flags

Here are brief data and national flags of all South American countries:


Argentina National Flag
  • Capital: Buenos Aires
  • Area: 2,791,810 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Argentine Peso


Bolivia National Flag
  • Capital: La Paz – Sucre
  • Area: 1,098,580 km²
  • Languages: Spanish, Quechua and Aymara
  • Currency: Bolivian


Brazil National Flag
  • Capital: Brasilia
  • Area: 8,515,767,049 km²
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Currency: Real


Chile National Flag
  • Capital: Santiago
  • Area: 756,096 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Weight


Colombia National Flag
  • Capital: Bogota
  • Area: 1,141,750 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Colombian Peso


Ecuador National Flag
  • Capital: Quito
  • Area: 256,370 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: US Dollar


French Guiana Flag
  • Capital: Georgetown
  • Area: 214,970 km²
  • Language: English
  • Currency: Guyana Dollar


Paraguay National Flag
  • Capital: Asuncion
  • Area: 406,750 km²
  • Language: Spanish and Guarani
  • Currency: Guarani


Peru National Flag
  • Capital: Lima
  • Area: 1,285,220 km²
  • Languages: Spanish, Quínchua and Aymara
  • Currency: New Sun


Suriname National Flag
  • Capital: Paramaribo
  • Area: 163,820 km²
  • Language: Dutch
  • Currency: Suriname Dollar


Uruguay National Flag
  • Capital: Montevideo
  • Area: 176,220 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Uruguayan Peso


Venezuela National Flag
  • Capital: Caracas
  • Area: 912,050 km²
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Venezuelan Bolivar

You may also like...