Paraguay Flag and Meaning

Flag of Paraguay

Flag of Paraguay

Paraguay Flag Meaning

The flag of Paraguay differs from others because it does not have the same emblem on both sides of the flag. On one side is the image of the country’s coat of arms, on others you see the Ministry of Finance’s emblem. José de Francias, the country’s head of government from 1814 to 1842, introduced the idea of ​​different emblems on each side of their previous flag. Then the flag had the coat of arms of Spain on one side and the coat of arms of the capital Asuncion on the other.

On their current flag, on the page where the coat of arms is located, is also the text Paz y Justicia (peace and justice). The flag of Paraguay was adopted on November 25, 1842.

Paraguay Overview

Population 5.5 million
Currency Guaraníes
Area 406,750 km²
Capital city Asunción
Population density 13.5 residents/km²
HDI location 96

Land without coastline in the Rio de la Plata basin of South America. It is divided by the Paraguay River into two natural regions: the eastern part is the lowlands and receives water from tributaries to the Paraguay and Paraná Rivers. It is covered with rainforest and is also the country’s most important agricultural area. Next to soy which is the country’s most important export product, wheat, corn and tobacco are grown. The western part – the Chaco Boreal – is the driest, the vegetation is savanna, which is grown in cotton and is found in cattle farming. Agricultural production concentrated around the large estates contributes to the clearing of large forest areas, and thus to the destruction of many of the fauna’s habitats. The clearing of forest together with hunting has resulted in 14 mammal species, 11 bird species and 2 reptile species being threatened with extinction.

The People: The Paraguayans are predominantly (90%) mestizos (of mixed origin), with Spanish and Native American ancestry. The latter mainly belonged to the Guarani tribe, which today constitutes only 5% of the population, and have great difficulties in preserving their ethnic identity. Immigration has also created minority groups of Germans, Italians, Argentinians and Brazilians. The latter group plays an increasingly dominant role along the border with Brazil. About 1 million Paraguayans live outside the country. Of these, 200,000 have fled for political reasons.

Religion: Catholic (official and dominant)

Languages: Spanish and Guaraní (official). Most Paraguayans are bilingual.

Political parties: Colorado Party. Democratic Alliance (Alianza Democrática), electoral coalition formed by the parties of Laínos and Filizzola (PLRA and Partido Encuentro Nacional). Partido Revolucionario Febrerista. Movimiento Popular Colorado (MOPOCO) formed in 1959 following a split in the Colorado Party. Christian Democrats (Partido Demócrata Cristiano). Communist Party.

Social organizations: The Confederación Paraguaya de Trabajadores national organization attached to the government. Central Unitaria de Trabajadores (CUT) formed in 1990 brought together for the first time the unions and the strong peasant movement. Paraguay’s Women’s Union (Union of Mujeres del Paraguay).

Official name: República del Paraguay

Administrative division: 17 departments and the capital

Capital: Asuncion, 1,870,000 residents (2009)

Other important cities: Ciudad del Este, 254,300 residents; San Lorenzo, 224,900 residents; Lambaré, 167,900 residents; Fernando de la Mora 160,300 residents (2000)

Government: Presidential Republic of Limited Democracy. The sitting president’s party ousted the elected president by a coup.
Millionaire Horacio Cartes has been president since August 2013. Parliament has two chambers: the Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados) with 80 seats and the Senate (Cámara de Senadores) with 45 seats.

National Day: May 14 (Independence, 1811)

Armed Forces: 20,200 (1996)

Paramilitary forces: 8,000 police officers