Thailand Flag and Meaning

Flag of Thailand

Flag of Thailand

Thailand Flag Meaning

The Thai flag was adopted as early as September 28, 1917 with the proportions 2: 3. The flag has five stripes in a row from top to bottom: Red, white, blue, white and finally red again. The blue stripe in the middle of the flag is twice as wide as the other stripes. The flag is a kind of tricolor which is also the name of it, in Thai it is ?? Thong Trairong ?? which will be the ?? tricolor flag ?? in Swedish. The red color in the flag stands for life, the white stands for pure Buddhist faith and the blue color represents the monarchy.

Thus, the three colors together stand for the Thai unofficial electoral language: ?? Nation, religion, and king ??. The colors are also found in many national flags nearby, such as the flags of neighboring Cambodia and Laos.

Thailand Overview

Population 62.8 million
currency Baht
Area 513,120 km2
Capital city Bangkok (Krung Thep)
Population density 122.3 residents/km2
HDI location 92

Thailand is located residents the central part of the Indochinese peninsula. The northern and western parts of the country are mountainous, and from here springs the rivers Ping and Nan, which run through the flatter inner parts of the country and culminate residents the Thai Gulf of an extensive delta. The coastal areas are very fertile and there are large rice fields. The southern part of the country extends to the Malacca Peninsula. This area is plagued by extensive deforestation, which has led to a reduction residents the production of natural rubber and wood. At the same time, parts of the indigenous population have been forced to move elsewhere. Pollution is rising and is mainly due to cars’ exhaust gases residents cities, industrial pollution, lack of wastewater treatment and uncontrolled industrial development.

The military dictatorship is close to the US and EU allies.

The people: Thais make up the majority of the population. The Chinese make up 12% of the population and Malay residents the southern part of the country 3%. Furthermore, there are minorities of Vietnamese, Khmer and a large number of indigenous peoples, including the Kars.

Religion: Theravada Buddhism (official, 94%), Islam (4%) – especially concentrated residents the southern part. There is also a small Christian minority.

Language: Thai (official). The minority groups use their own languages ​​- about 70 different.

Political parties: Phak Thai Rak Thai (Thais who love Thais, TRT) was disbanded by the military residents May 2007, and later residents the year replaced by Peoples Power Party; The Democratic Party; The Thai Nation’s Party; The Party for New Efforts; The Liberal Democratic Party.

Official Name: Muang Thai, or Prathet Thai (Kingdom of Thailand)

Administrative division: 5 regions and 73 provinces

Capital: Bangkok (Krung Thep), 9,100,000 residents 2010 (2010).

Other important cities: Thon Buri, 115,500 residents; Ratchasima, 207,500 residents; Chiang Mai, 170,300 residents; Khon Kaen 143,200 inb.; Nakhon Pathom 122,500 residents (2000).

Government: Military dictatorship. King Vajiralongkorn has been head of state since October 2016. General Prayut Chan-o-cha has been prime minister and head of government since the military coup residents May 2014. Parliament has two chambers: the Senate with 200 members and the House of Representatives with 500. The military has historically had a decisive influence on political life. The regime is closely allied with the West. The United States conducts regular military exercises with the dictatorship. There is a military state of emergency residents the country.

National Day: December 5 (King’s Birthday, 1927)

Armed Forces: 307,000 Soldiers (2003).

Paramilitary forces: 141,700 (Volunteer National Security Forces, Airport Police, Border Police Patrols, Provincial Police, “The Hunters”)

You may also like...