Slovakia Flag and Meaning

Flag of Slovakia

Flag of Slovakia

Slovakia Flag Meaning

The tricolor has the pan-Slavic colors and the emblem against the inner edge of the flag is the country’s coat of arms. After the velvet revolution in 1989, the tricolor was reintroduced, but then it was without the coat of arms. The flag was official for the Slovak Republic. In 1992, in connection with the creation of an independent Slovakia with the dissolution of Czechoslovakia, the coat of arms was introduced in the flag in order to distinguish it from Russia. The flag was adopted on 1 September 1992 and the flag was hoisted for the first time two days later outside the castle in Bratislava.

The coat of arms holds a patriotic cross. It is a representation of Christianity and the three mountains below are a symbol of the mountains Tatra, Fatra and Mátra.

Slovakia Overview

Population 5.4 million
Currency Slovakian kroner
Area 49.010 km2
Capital city Bratislava
Population density 110.1 inbound / km2
HDI location 31

The country is mountainous and the Carpathians form the largest mountain range. The mountain regions are covered with forests, making the timber industry a major source of revenue, while the Danube and Uh valleys are lush agricultural areas. The country has significant deposits of copper, zinc, lead and mercury; there are also deposits of oil and natural gas. Pollution from industry is the most important environmental problem.

The People: The Slovak Republics make up 85.7% of the population while the Hungarians represent 10.7%. There are minority groups of Gypsies, 1.6%, Czechs, 1.1%, Ruthenians, 0.3%, Ukrainians, 0.3% and Germans 0.1%.

Religion: Catholics, 60.3%; atheists 9.7%; Slovak evangelists, 6.2%; Protestants, 3.5%; Greek Catholics, 3.4%; Orthodox, 0.7% and others 18%.

Language: Slovak is the official language; In addition, Hungarian is spoken.

Political parties: Slovakia’s Democracy Movement, led by Vladimir Meciar; The Left Democratic Party, formerly the Communist Party; The Christian Democracy Movement; The Slovak Nationalist Party; The Alternative Democratic Party; The Slovak Democratic Coalition; The Coexistence Party, which is a coalition of the Christian Hungarian Democracy Movement, the Hungarian People’s Party and the Coexistence Group.

Social organizations: Association of Slovak Trade Unions (KOZ-SR), led by Alojs Englis.

Official name: Slovenska Republika.

Administrative division: 4 provinces, divided into 38 municipalities and the capital.

Capital: Bratislava, 546,300 residents (2009).

Other important cities: Kosice, 244,400 inb; Presov, 95,300 inb; Nitra, 87,400 indb; Zilina, 87,600 inb; Banská Bystrica 84,400 residents (2000).

Government: Parliamentary Republic. The Constitution was introduced on January 1, 1993. Andrej Kiska has been President since June 2014. Robert Fico, Prime Minister since April 2012. Parliament has one chamber of 150 members elected for a four-year term.

National Day: September 1 (National Day. 1992).

Armed forces: 20,000 men. (2003).

Paramilitary forces: 3,950 men, distributed to the Border Police, Intelligence and Civil Defense.

You may also like...