Countries in Southern Asia

How Many Countries in Southern Asia

South Asia is one of the largest and most populous subcontinents on the planet. Covering the official territory of more than 5 million km², Southern Asia is composed of independent countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). See below for the full list of Southern Asian Countries by population.

List of Countries in Southern Asia and Their Capitals

As noted above, there are eight independent countries in the South Asia. Among them, the largest country is India and the smallest is Maldives in term of population. The full list of Southern Asia countries with capitals is shown in the table below, ranked by latest total population and area.

Rank Country Name Population Land Area (km²) Capital
1 India 1,348,670,000 2,973,190 New Delhi
2 Pakistan 205,051,000 881,912 Islamabad
3 Bangladesh 166,752,000 130,168 Dhaka
4 Afghanistan 32,225,560 652,230 Kabul
5 Nepal 29,609,623 143,351 Kathmandu
6 Sri Lanka 21,670,112 62,732 Colombo, Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte
7 Bhutan 741,672 38,394 Thimphu
8 Maldives 378,114 298 Male

Map of Southern Asian Countries

Map of Southern Asian Countries

You may also like...