Uruguay Flag and Meaning

Flag of Uruguay

Flag of Uruguay

Uruguay Flag Meaning

The flag of Uruguay was adopted on July 11, 1830 when the number of stripes in the flag was reduced to 9 from 17 as it was in the previous flag which was valid until 1830. There are five white stripes and four blue in the flag, so the stripe at the bottom is white and the stripe at the top is white. In the upper left corner there is a yellow sun with a white background. The sun in the flag has 16 sunbeams with a face in its center.

The colors and the sun symbol have to do with the fact that Uruguay was united with Argentina until the year 1828. The white and blue stripes together symbolize the nine departments that Uruguay was then divided into. The sun symbolizes independence and you can find a similar symbol in Argentina national flag.

Uruguay Overview

Population 3.3 million
Currency Uruguay Pesos
Area 177.410 km2
Capital city Montevideo
Population density 18.6 residents/km2
HDI location 52

Uruguay’s landscape is slightly hilly. It is an extension of the forests of southern Brazil belonging to the ancient mountain massif, Guayánico Brasileño. The average height of the country is 300 meters above sea level, which together with its geographical location means that it has a slightly cooler subtropically humid climate with the rainfall being roughly equally distributed over the year.

The country has no mineral extraction or known resources of importance. The economy is dominated by industry, service industries and agriculture, which are based on large units and extensive operations. Only about a tenth of the land is cultivated. The country’s extensive natural pastures are used instead for cattle and sheep farming.

The country has an extensive river network, of which the 1100 km can be traveled. This applies mainly to the Negro and Uruguay rivers as well as the mouth of the La Plata river. The coastal area consists of extensive sandy beaches that attract many tourists. The northern part of the country is plagued by pollution from the Candiota power plant in Brazil, and the rivers are increasingly polluted by pesticide residues. There is increasing degradation of the ecosystems in the meadow areas of the eastern part of the country as a result of the monoculture of trees and rice.

The people: The majority of the Uruguayan population is descended from immigrants from Spain, Italy and other European countries. However, recent historical and genetic studies have revealed that a significant proportion of the population also has Indo-American ancestry. 8% of the population is descended from African slaves.

Religion: Catholicism (66%), Protestantism (2%), Jews (3%). These percentages do not preclude a significant portion of the population from participating in Afro-Brazilian rituals.

Language: Spanish

Political parties: Encuentro Progresista-Frente Amplio ; Partido Colorado; Partido Nacional (Blancos); Nuevo Espacio; Unión Cívica.

Social organizations: PIT-CNT (Plenario Intersindical de Trabajadores-Convención Nacional de Trabajadores); The cooperative housing organization FUCVAM (Federación Uruguaya de Construcción de Viviendas by Ayuda Mutua); Student Federation Federación de Estudiantes Universitarios (FEUU).

Official name: República Oriental del Uruguay.

Administrative division: 19 departments

Capital: Montevideo, 1,325,000 residents (2004).

Other important cities: Salto, 86,600 residents; Paysandú, 76,400 residents; Las Piedras, 70,700 residents; Rivera, 69,400 residents; Maldonado, 40,600 residents (2000).

Government: Presidential parliamentary rule. Tabaré Vázquez, president since March 2015. Parliament has two chambers: the 99-member Chamber of Deputies and the 31-member Senate, both elected by proportional elections. The Vice President is chairman of the Senate.

National Day: August 25 (Independence, 1825). July 18 (Constitution Day, 1830)

Armed Forces: 24,000 (2003).

Paramilitary forces: 700 (Capital Guard), 500 (Republican Guard)

You may also like...