Kiribati Flag and Meaning

Flag of Kiribati

Flag of Kiribati

Kiribati Flag Meaning

The flag of Kiribati was adopted on July 12, 1979, with a ratio of 1: 2. Ever since independence from Britain in 1979, the flag has consisted of an upper red half with a large frigate bird flying above the rising sun which is made of gold with 17 rays. The lower half consists of blue with three white horizontal bands made in a wave shape.

The 17 rays represent the 16 Gilbert Islands and Banaba, which were previously part of the Gilbert Islands. The wavy bands in the flag represent the three archipelagos: the Gilbert Islands, the Phoenix Islands and the Line Islands. The flag was originally a contribution in a competition for Kiribati’s new national flag where it won but was changed by Britain’s National Heraldry: College of arms, but as the population protested, it became the contribution that was from the beginning.

Kiribati Overview

Population 83000
Currency Australian dollars
Area 730 km2
Capital city Bairiki (Tarawa Island)
Population density 113.6 residents/km2

Kiribati consists of 33 islands and atolls spread over a 5 million km2 ocean area in Micronesia – on both sides of the date line. The main islands are Gilbert, Banaba, Fenix ‚Äč‚ÄčNorth and South Esporadas, except for the island of Jarvis, which is in the possession of the United States. The islands are of coral origin and the sandy soil is only suitable for cultivation of palm trees. The climate is tropical, rainy, but somewhat moderate due to the coastal climate. The significant deposits of phosphate – especially on the island of Banaba – are largely depleted after intense extraction. Fisheries (conducted by large vessels from Japan, Taiwan, South Korea and the United States) and Cobra are the main sources of revenue. The extraction of metal-containing nodules on the seabed is potential resources.

The people: Melanesian in origin and made up of Kiribatians (97.4%), mixed (1.5%), natives of Tuvalu (0.5%), Europeans (0.2%) and others.

Religion: Catholics (53.4%), Protestants (39.2%), Baha’i (2.4%), Adventists (1.9%), Mormons (1.6%), others (1.5%)).

Languages: English and Kiribati (Gilbertese)

Political Parties: National Progressive Party; Maneaba Party.

Social organizations: There are various unions and since 1979 there is a unified national organization.

Official Name: Republic of Kiribati.

Capital: Bairiki, 42,000 residents (2003).

Other important cities: Bikenibeu 7,000 residents; Abaiang 5,300 residents (2000).

Government: Taneti Mamau has been President since March 2016. Parliament has 42 members elected by direct election and a representative of the island of Banaba.

National Day: July 12 (Independence, 1979)

You may also like...