Category: Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands are an archipelago and a country bathed by the Pacific Ocean, in the group of islands of Melanesia. There are 635 thousand residents (2016). The capital is Honiara, on the island of Guadalcanal. The Spanish were the first Europeans to explore these islands, in 1568, and named it Solomon. In 1885, the northern part of the Solomon Islands became a German protectorate. In 1893, the southern part became a British protectorate. In 1900, Germany transferred the northern islands to the British, with the exception of Buka and Bougainville. The Japanese began to occupy the islands during World War II, but were stopped by the USA, at the Battle of Guadalcanal. Independence was achieved in 1978.