Vanuatu Overview

Country Profile

The Republic of Vanuatu is comprised of over 80 islands and is located in the southwest Pacific ocean Covering an area of about 12,200 square kilometers, Vanuatu has a population of 199 million, most of whom are Melanesian. Residents are Christian, with French, English, and General Bislama spoken. The currency is the tile map and the capital is Port Vila .

Vanuatu National Flag

Vanuatu’s national flag is red, green, black and yellow in color. The yellow symbolizes the sun that shines over the whole country; black symbolizes skin color of the islanders; red symbolizes blood; and green symbolizes a fertile land To the left of the flag is a pig’s tusk, a traditional symbol of national wealth.

Vanuatu Country Flag

History Summary

In 1606 Vanuatu was discovered by the Spanish, with the French arriving in 1768. In 1774, British Captain James Cook named the islands the New Hebrides, and in 1906 it was reduced to a colony of Anglo-French emigrants. In 1965, the indigenous inhabitants established the first political party – the Country Party – to recover their land and achieve independence. In January, 1978, an internal self-government was established, on July 30, 1980, independence was declared.

Economy and Culture Overview

The islands were formed by undersea volcanic eruptions. The economy is dominated by agriculture, particularly the production of coconut, cocoa, coffee, and bananas. It is also rich in fishery resources, with tuna particularly prolific. However, tourism is the main industry and the largest source of foreign exchange.

Vanuatu Map

Vanuatu Map


You may also like...