Kiribati Overview

Country Profile

The Republic of Kiribati is comprised of 33 small islands and is located in the centre of the Pacific ocean. The combined land area of the islands is 811 square kilometers, and the country has a population of about 85,000, most of whom Micronesian. Roman Catholic and Protestantism are the primary religions, and the official language is English. The currency is the Australian dollar and the capital is Tarawa.

Kiribati National Flag

Kiribati’s flag contains a red backdrop with blue and white waves at the bottom. There is also a yellow sun rising and a frigate bird. Too old symbol of the equatorial sun, that the equatorial zone in location: The red symbolizes the earth, blue represents culture, and white stands for the Pacific ocean. The frigate bird is a symbol of strength, freedom and Kiribati.

Kiribati Country Flag

History Summary

Kiribati was first settled 500 years ago.. Around the 14th century, Fijians and Tongans invaded and intermarried with the local people, forming the nation of Kiribati. In 1916 it was designated the British Gilbert and Ellice Islands colony, and during World War II was invaded by the Japanese. On January 1, 1977, and internal self-government was implemented, and on July 12, 1979, independence was declared, with the island renamed Kiribati and joining the Commonwealth.

Economy and Culture Overview

Economically poor, Kiribati is one of the world’s least developed countries. However, it is rich in fishing resources, with fishing and coconut production the two pillars of the national economy.
Kiribati crosses the international date line.

Kiribati Map

Kiribati Map

You may also like...