Category: Tonga

The Kingdom of Tonga is an island country bathed by the Pacific Ocean, in the Polynesian island group. There are 107 thousand residents distributed in 40 of the more than 170 islands in the country, about 2/3 of the population live on the island of Tongatapu. The capital is Nukualofa. The Tonga archipelago was visited by the Dutch in the 17th century. Spanish and British arrived in the late 18th century. In 1845, the Kingdom of Tonga was unified. It became a British protectorate in 1900. Independence was achieved in 1970.

Tonga Population

Tonga Population

Tonga was called “Friendly Islands” after Captain James Cook was kindly received in the 18th century. The...

Togo Country Flag

Tonga Facts

Tonga, state of the South Pacific; 748 km², 103,000 residents (2019).Tonga encompasses the Tonga Islands, also called...

Airports in Tonga

Tonga Airports

As of 2019, there are 3 airports throughout the country of Tonga according to IATA and ICAO....