Northern Mariana Islands Facts

Northern Mariana Islands, Commonwealth in the Western Pacific, in Union with the United States; 457 km2, 55,200 residents (2018).The Northern Mariana Islands consist of 16 of the 17 islands in the Mariana Islands (the seventeenth is Guam). Five islands are inhabited; the largest are Saipan, Tinian and Rota. The center for development and administration is Saipan. The official language is English.

The economy has expanded rapidly since the mid-1980s, with mainly very large Japanese investments. The standard of living is high for being in the Pacific world. Tourism accounts for about 60 percent of GDP. Furthermore, the Northern Marians export clothing, meat and vegetables.

Northern Mariana Islands is a U.S. territory located in the Western Pacific. Covering an area of 477 square kilometers, the islands have a combined population of 7.8 million people, most of whom are of Asian origin. Residents are Roman Catholic and the official language is English, with the Chamorro and Caroline languages also spoken. The currency is U.S. dollar and the capital is Saipan.

Northern Mariana Islands National Flag

Northern Mariana Islands Country Flag

History Summary

The Portuguese navigator Magellan arrived here in 1521, and by 1565 the islands were occupied by Spain. In 1899 Spain sold Germany the Marianas, which were later occupied by the Japanese During World War II, in 1944, the U.S. invaded, and the islands have remained in their possession since. The United Nations in 1947 will pay the United States hosted the Northern Mariana. In December 1990, the Northern Mariana Islands became a federal territory, adopting the U.S. flag.


You may also like...