Category: Guide to Oceania

Oceania is called the New World, because it was the last continent to be discovered by Europeans, who arrived in the 17th century. Only at the end of the eighteenth century would the colonization begin, with the arrival of British prisoners forced to work in the plantation. Almost all the islands of Oceania have the population composed mostly of indigenous people. Except for Australia and New Zealand, in which the whites of Europe -the predominant ones of British origin-constitute the majority of the inhabitants. The human groups Melanesians, Micronesians and Polynesians usually migrate from one archipelago to another in search of better working conditions, thus having a high degree of miscigenation. In some islands it is verified the presence of large portions of Indians and Chinese. Browse subcategories by country: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Fiji Country Flag

Fiji Overview

Country Profile The Republic of Fiji Islands is located in the center of the south-west Pacific ocean...

Palau Country Flag

Palau Overview

Country Profile The Republic of Palau, comprised of more than 200 volcanic islands and atolls, is located...

Nauru Country Flag

Nauru Overview

Country Profile Known as the smallest island country, the Republic of Nauru is located in the central...

Samoa Country Flag

Samoa Overview

Country Profile The Independent State of Samoa is often referred to as the “heart of Polynesia” and...

Togo Country Flag

Tonga Overview

Country Profile The Kingdom of Tonga is located in the western Pacific, and means “sacred island” in...

Tuvalu Country Flag

Tuvalu Overview

Country Profile Tuvalu, which means “island of the group of eight” in the local language, is located...