Marshall Islands Overview

Country Profile

The Republic of Marshall Islands is located in the Pacific Islands, covering an area of 181 square kilometers. It has a population of 57,000, mostly Micronesian. Residents are Protestant or Christian, with English the official language. The currency is the U.S. dollar, and the capital is Majuro.

National Flag

The Marshall Islands’ flag is blue, red and white, with a sun in the top left corner The 24 rays of light symbolize the country’s 24 administrative regions.

Marshall Islands Country Flag

History Summary

Western sailors arrived at the islands in the early 16th century, and in 1788 they were name after the British Captain, John Marshall. In 1886 they became a German protectorate, and during World War I, they were occupied by Japan. From 1944-1947 in the United States actually marching pipe, and in July 1947, the Marshall Islands to the United States managed by the United Nations, after the Republic of Palau, Northern Mariana Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia Pacific Islands Trust to form the four political entities. September 17, 1991, the United Nations Member States.

Economy and Culture Overview

The islands have an abundance of coral reefs, and Kwajalein Atoll lagoon is the world’s largest lagoon, covering an area of 1700 square kilometers.

Economic income is mainly dependent on the assistance of the United States, Japan and other countries and international organizations. Rich in fishing resources, fishing and fish farming has great growth potential.

Marshall Islands Map

Marshall Islands Map

You may also like...