Wallis and Futuna Overview

Wallis and Futuna (France)

Wallis and Futuna is located in the southwest Pacific, west of the international date line. A land area of 274 square kilometers is home to 16,000 people, who are mostly Bolilini from West Asia. Due to the fact that the country is a French overseas territory, French is the official language, although Wallis is also spoken, and residents are Roman Catholic. The currency is the Pacific franc and the capital is Matautu (Mata utu).

Wallis and Futuna Flag

Wallis and Futuna Country Flag

Economy and Culture Overview

Traditional self-sufficient agriculture accounts for 80% of the total employment. The main crops include breadfruit, banana, coconut, cassava, and taro. Copra and handicrafts are the main export products, and the main income comes from the French government’s assistance, expatriate remittances, and fishing license fees.
The island is a French overseas territories and the Chief Executive by the French to send.

Wallis and Futuna Map

Wallis and Futuna Map

You may also like...