Bermuda Overview

Bermuda (United Kingdom)

Bermuda Islands is located in the North Atlantic Great Western and covers an area of 53 square kilometers. Alongside more than 150 small islands and reefs and seven large islands, home to a population of about 65,000, of whom 61% are of African descent, with the other of European and North American descent. Residents are Christian, with English the official language. The currency is the Bermuda dollar and the capital is Hamilton.

Bermuda Flag

Bermuda Flag

History Summary

In 1505 the Spanish landed on the island of Bermuda. In 1684, it became a British colony, the first in the Commonwealth. In March 1940, America entered into executive agreements, and the United States rented the islands in the Morgan, Terkel, and the three islands of St. David, for 99 years, keeping their destroyers there. In 1957, the last British troops withdrew from Bermuda, and in 1968 it was granted internal autonomy.

Economy and Culture Overview

Bermuda’s economy is dependent on tourism, international financial services, and insurance. The insurance and reinsurance industry earns over 55 billion U.S. dollars, making Bermuda second only to London and New York in this sector. Per capita, it has the highest GDP in the world.

Devil’s Triangle

The Devil’s Triangle, also known as the Bermuda Triangle, is the site of many mysterious disappearances. The area is triangular in shape, spanning between Bermuda, Puerto Rico, and the Florida Straits. Over a period of 150 years, hundreds of ships and aircraft have mysteriously disappeared, often suddenly and with no signs of distress.

Bermuda Map

Bermuda Map

You may also like...