Iowa Airports

As of 2019, there are 47 airports throughout the state of Iowa according to IATA and ICAO. Through the table below, you can find name of each airport, its abbreviation, city location, and size. Airports in Iowa are listed in alphabetical order. Please note that some airports serve internationally, while the other only serve domestically.

Airports in Iowa

List of All Airports in Iowa

# Airport Abbreviation Location Size
1 Algona Airport AXG Algona, IA Small
2 Ames Airport AMW Ames, IA Medium
3 Boone Airport BNW Boone, IA Small
4 Burlington Airport BRL Burlington, IA Medium
5 Carroll Airport CIN Carroll, IA Small
6 Clinton Airport CWI Clinton, IA Small
7 Davenport Airport DVN Davenport, IA Small
8 Des Moines Airport DSM Des Moines, IA Large
9 Dubuque Regional Airport DBQ Dubuque, IA Medium
10 Eastern Iowa Airport CID Cedar Rapids, IA Medium
11 Fort Dodge Airport FOD Fort Dodge, IA Small
12 Humboldt Airport HUD Humboldt, IA Small
13 Industrial Airport OTM Ottumwa, IA Small
14 Iowa City Airport IOW Iowa City, IA Small
15 Iowa Falls Airport IFA Iowa Falls, IA Small
16 Keokuk Airport EOK Keokuk, IA Small
17 Mason City Airport MCW Mason City, IA Medium
18 Municipal Airport AIO Atlantic, IA Small
19 Municipal Airport CCY Charles City, IA Small
20 Municipal Airport ICL Clarinda, IA Small
21 Municipal Airport CBF Council Bluffs, IA Small
22 Municipal Airport CSQ Creston, IA Small
23 Municipal Airport DEH Decorah, IA Small
24 Municipal Airport DNS Denison, IA Small
25 Municipal Airport EST Estherville, IA Medium
26 Municipal Airport FFL Fairfield, IA Small
27 Municipal Airport FXY Forest City, IA Small
28 Municipal Airport FMS Fort Madison, IA Small
29 Municipal Airport HPT Hampton, IA Small
30 Municipal Airport IDG Ida Grove, IA Small
31 Municipal Airport EFW Jefferson, IA Small
32 Municipal Airport LRJ Lemars, IA Small
33 Municipal Airport MIW Marshalltown, IA Small
34 Municipal Airport MXO Monticello, IA Small
35 Municipal Airport MPZ Mt Pleasant, IA Small
36 Municipal Airport TNU Newton, IA Small
37 Municipal Airport OOA Oskaloosa, IA Small
38 Municipal Airport PRO Perry, IA Small
39 Municipal Airport POH Pocahontas, IA Small
40 Municipal Airport SPW Spencer, IA Small
41 Municipal Airport SLB Storm Lake, IA Small
42 Municipal Airport UKN Waukon, IA Small
43 Municipal Airport EBS Webster City, IA Small
44 Muscatine Airport MUT Muscatine, IA Small
45 Sioux Gateway Airport SUX Sioux City, IA Medium
46 Spirit Lake Airport RTL Spirit Lake, IA Small
47 Waterloo Regional Airport ALO Waterloo, IA Medium

Iowa Overview

The state of Iowa has 3.1 million residents (2016). The capital is Des Moines.

The first Europeans to explore the territory of Iowa were probably the French, in the 17th century. The Iowa Territory was established in 1838. It became a state in 1846. The capital Des Moines, named after the river that flows through it, was founded in 1851, on the site of a fort established in 1843.

You may also like...