Virginia Airports

As of 2019, there are 24 airports throughout the state of Virginia according to IATA and ICAO. Through the table below, you can find name of each airport, its abbreviation, city location, and size. Airports in Virginia are listed in alphabetical order. Please note that some airports serve internationally, while the other only serve domestically.

Airports in Virginia

List of All Airports in Virginia

# Airport Abbreviation Location Size
1 Accomack County Airport MFV Melfa, VA Small
2 Camp A P Hill Airport APH Bowling Green, VA Small
3 Charlottesville Albemarle Airport CHO Charlottesville, VA Medium
4 Gordonsville Municipal Airport GVE Gordonsville, VA Small
5 Ingalls Field HSP Hot Springs, VA Small
6 Lawrenceville Airport LVL Lawrenceville, VA Small
7 Louisa Airport LOW Louisa, VA Small
8 Lynchburg Regional Airport LYH Lynchburg, VA Medium
9 Municipal Airport DAN Danville, VA Small
10 Municipal Airport FKN Franklin, VA Small
11 Municipal Airport PTB Petersburg, VA Small
12 Municipal Airport WGO Winchester, VA Small
13 New River Valley Airport PSK Dublin, VA Small
14 Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport PHF Williamsburg, VA Large
15 Norfolk International Airport ORF Norfolk, VA Large
16 Port Walter Airport PWR Port Walter, VA Small
17 Richmond International Airport RIC Richmond, VA Large
18 Roanoke Regional Airport ROA Roanoke, VA Large
19 Shenandoah Valley Airport SHD Staunton, VA Medium
20 Virginia Highlands Airport VJI Abingdon, VA Small
21 Virginia Tech Airport BCB Blacksburg, VA Small
22 Wallops Flight Center WAL Chincoteague, VA Small
23 Warren County Airport FRR Front Royal, VA Small
24 Wise Airport LNP Wise, VA Small

Virginia Overview

Virginia has 8.4 million residents (2016). The capital is Richmond and the largest city is Virginia Beach.

In 1607, the colony of Jamestown was founded, in the present state of Virginia. It was the first permanent British settlement in North America. Jamestown was the capital of English Colony until 1699, when the capital of Virginia was transferred to Williamsburg. Jamestown was abandoned in the second half of the 18th century.

In 1776, Virginia was one of the 13 original colonies to declare independence from Britain. In 1779, the capital was transferred to Richmond.

In 1861, at the beginning of the American Civil War, the western part of Virginia separated (West Virginia).

You may also like...