Massachusetts Airports

As of 2019, there are 26 airports throughout the state of Massachusetts according to IATA and ICAO. Through the table below, you can find name of each airport, its abbreviation, city location, and size. Airports in Afghanistan are listed in alphabetical order. Please note that some airports serve internationally, while the other only serve domestically.

Airports in Massachusetts

List of All Airports in Massachusetts

# Airport Abbreviation Location Size
1 Barnes Airport BAF Westfield, MA Medium
2 Barnstable Airport HYA Hyannis, MA Large
3 Beverly Municipal Airport BVY Beverly, MA Small
4 Burlington Airport BBF Burlington, MA Small
5 Cummings Park Airport WBN Woburn, MA Small
6 Great Barrington Airport GBR Great Barrington, MA Medium
7 Hanscom Field BED Bedford, MA Medium
8 Lawrence Airport LWM Lawrence, MA Medium
9 Logan International Airport BOS Boston, MA Huge
10 Marlborough Airport MXG Marlborough, MA Small
11 Martha’s Vineyard Airport MVY Marthas Vineyard, MA Medium
12 Memorial Airport ACK Nantucket, MA Large
13 Memorial Airport OWD Norwood, MA Medium
14 Metropolitan Airport PMX Palmer, MA Small
15 Minute Man Airfield MMN Stow, MA Small
16 Municipal Airport GDM Gardner, MA Small
17 New Bedford Airport EWB New Bedford, MA Large
18 Pittsfield Airport PSF Pittsfield, MA Medium
19 Plymouth Airport PYM Plymouth, MA Medium
20 Provincetown Airport PVC Provincetown, MA Medium
21 South Weymouth Airport NZW South Weymouth, MA Small
22 Taunton Municipal Airport TAN Taunton, MA Small
23 Waltham Airport WLM Waltham, MA Small
24 Ware Airport UWA Ware, MA Small
25 Westover Metro Airport CEF Springfield, MA Medium
26 Worcester Airport ORH Worcester, MA Medium

Massachusetts Overview

Massachusetts has 6.8 million residents (2016). The capital is Boston.

The first European settlements, in present-day Massachusetts, were established in the 17th century. In 1620, separatist pilgrims from the Anglican Church arrived at the Mayflower and founded the Plymouth Colony on Cape Cod. Massachusetts was one of 13 original colonies to declare independence in 1776.


Boston is the capital and largest city in the state of Massachusetts. It is also the seat of Suffolk County.

Boston was founded in 1630 by the Puritan Englishmen of the Massachusetts Bay Company, who opposed the Anglican Church. By the end of the 17th century, it was already one of the main ports among British colonies in North America. The city’s prosperity did not stop, but it was surpassed by others in the country, from the 18th century onwards. It continues to be one of the main cultural centers in the United States.