South Sudan Facts

South Sudan, Central Africa State; 619 700 km2, 11 million residents (2019).South Sudan became an independent state on July 9, 2011 and includes ten states that were previously part of Sudan. South Sudan borders in the north to Sudan, in the east to Ethiopia and Kenya, in the south to Uganda and Congo (Kinshasa) and in the west to the Central African Republic. The capital is Juba (772,400 residents, 2014).

As a result of many years of fighting and large population movements, the statistical data for South Sudan is very uncertain.

South Sudan National Flag

South Sudan Country Flag

Country facts

  • Republic of South Sudan / Republic of South Sudan
  • Country abbreviation: SS
  • Area: 619 700 km²
  • Population (2019): 11.0 million residents
  • Capital: Juba
  • Main languages: English, Arabic
  • State: Republic
  • Head of State and Head of Government: Salva Kiir Mayardit (President)
  • Per capita GDP (2015): US $ 731
  • GNI per capita (2015): US $ 820
  • Currency unit: Sudanese pound
  • Currency code: SSP
  • Country number (telephony): 211
  • Internet Domain Name: ss
  • Time difference compared to Sweden: +2
  • National Day: July 9 (Independence Day, 2011)


  • Highest mountain: Kinyeti (3,187 m asl)


  • Population density (2019): 18 residents per km²
  • Natural population growth (2019): 2.4%; birthrate 35 ‰, deathrate 11 ‰
  • Age structure (2019): 0-14 years (42%), 15-64 (55%), 65- (3%)
  • Life expectancy (2019): men 56 years, women 59 years
  • Infant mortality (2019): 65 per 1,000 live births
  • Population forecast 2050: 20 million residents
  • HDI (2017): 0.388 (place 187 of 189)
  • Urbanization rate (2019): 20%
  • Most populous city (2014): Juba (772,400 residents)

South Sudan is occupied by a pelvic area which in the south and west is surrounded by mountainous area. The country is crossed by the Nile. The country has savanna climate with rainy season from April to November.

South Sudan became an independent state in 2011. When the state was proclaimed, a process was initiated that began in 2005 through a peace agreement that ended 22 years of civil war between the northern and southern parts of Sudan. The country is a republic with strong presidential rule where the president, who is elected for four years, is both head of state and government as well as commander-in-chief. The former liberation movement is a state-carrying party. Parliament consists of two chambers and is elected every four years.

South Sudan has good economic conditions with fertile agricultural land and rich oil resources, but after many years of wars and large population movements, the country still has a fragile economy. At independence, South Sudan gained control of rich oil deposits, but oil pipelines go north to the port city of Port Sudan in Sudan, where there are also refineries – a situation that in 2012 led to disputes.

You may also like...