South Africa Overview

Country Profile

The Republic of South Africa is located at the southern tip of Africa, and covers an area of 1,219,000 square kilometers. It has a population of 45.45 million, 70% of whom are black. Residents are Protestant or Catholic, and there are 11 official languages, with English and Afrikaner being the most common. The currency is the Rand and the capital is Pretoria.

South Africa National Flag

The South African national flag contains the colors black, yellow, green, white, red, and blue, the six colors serving as a symbol of national reconciliation.

South Africa Country Flag

History Summary

Originally inhabited by the San people, the area was eventually populated by Kuwaitis and Iraqis, with the Bantu also arriving from the north. In the 17th century, the Dutch and British invaded and continued to advance their mainland colonies. In 19th century, the white rulers established four political entities: the two British colonies of Cape and Natal, and the two Dutch colonies of the Boer Republic, known as the Republic of South Africa Transvaal and the Orange Free State. From 1899 to 1902 the two colonizing countries fought in the Anglo-Dutch war. In 1910, the Union of South Africa became autonomous from the UK, , and on May 31, 1961, the Republic of South Africa was established and the country left the Commonwealth. In 1994, Nelson Mandela became South Africa’s first black president.

Economy and Culture Overview

South Africa is one of Africa’s most economically developed countries with the highest degree of modernization. it is also known as the “Golden Kingdom” because of its gold reserves, but it also produces platinum, manganese, vanadium, and titanium. Mining, manufacturing and agriculture are the three pillars of the economy. Gold mining, drilling equipment, rail manufacturing, automobile assembly, and cardiac surgery are among the best in the world. In addition, iron and steel, machinery, electrical goods, chemicals, food, and other industries are also prolific. South Africa has three capitals: Pretoria, the administrative capital; Cape Town, the legislative capital, and; Bloemfontein, the judicial capital. If any city raises the South African flag, it means the President is currently in the city.

South Africa’s Zulu people still retain a traditional way of life, with women larger than men but socially inferior to them. South Africa is a paradise for wild animals, with an abundance of flora and fauna. There are elephants, white rhinos, hippopotamuses, lions, giraffes, dogs, and other mammals, as well as over 880 different species of birds, 800 butterfly species, and more than 22,000 plant species. This is why it is often said that South Africa has the “Earth’s biggest wildlife gallery.”

Cape of Good Hope

Located at the southwestern tip of the African continent, the Cape of Good Hope is surround by waves all year. In 1486, the Portuguese explorer Dias called the area the “crisis corners.” In 1497 the Portuguese explorers landed on their way to India. The area then became known as the Cape of Good Hope. Before the opening of the Suez Canal, the Cape of Good Hope was the only means of connecting Europe and Asia by sea. Today, it remains one of the world’s busiest shipping lanes, with around four thousand vessels passing this way each year.

South African Diamond

The formation of natural diamonds requires high temperatures and special circumstances. In a volcanic eruption, the underground magma may be formed in the ground 2000 km deep diamonds to the surface., Thus, a cooling volcanic pipe hole is the easiest place to find diamonds. In 1871, diamonds were found in two ancient dormant volcanoes located in the central highlands of South Africa. A few years later a mining company was set up and called Kimberley after the British colonial minister. After this the rest of the world came to know the rock called kimberlite. Kimberley is now a famous diamond town, near the world’s largest diamond mine. Approximately 14.5 million kt (1 carat = 0.2 grams) of diamonds were drilled and excavated, and now that the mineral resources have been depleted the mine is now open for visitors.

Kruger National Park

Located in northeastern South Africa, Kruger National Park is South Africa’s largest wildlife park, spanning 320 kilometers in length, 64 kilometers in width, and covering about 20,000 square kilometers. It provides a natural habitat for elephants, lions, rhinos, wild buffalo, antelope, giraffes, and other mammals, but also is wear the endemic African Baobab grows.

South Africa Map

South Africa Map

You may also like...