Eritrea Overview

Country Profile

Eritrea is located in eastern Africa and covers an area of 124,300 square kilometers. The word ‘Eritrea’ comes from the Greek for ‘red.’ The population of 4.56 million is comprised of the Tigrinya, Tigray, and Afaras well as nine other nationalities. Many residents believe in Christianity or Islam, and the main languages spoken are Tigrinya, Tigre, General English, and Arabic. The currency is the Nakfa and the capital is Asmara.

Eritrea National Flag

The Eritrean national flag is made up of three triangles of green, red, and blue. Red symbolizes liberation and struggle for independence, green represents agriculture and animal husbandry, and blue denotes the rich marine resources and wealth. A yellow olive branch emblem symbolizes mineral resources and peace.

Eritrea Country Flag

History Summary

Long-standing rule of the feudal dynasty in Ethiopia, 19 end of the century had never formed a unified political entity. In 1869, Italian colonialists invaded Ethiopia, and by 1890, Italy had consolidated the country into a unified colonial entity named Eritrea. In 1941, during World War II, Italy suffered military defeat, and Eritrea became a British trusteeship. In 1952, Eritrea formed a local government and formed a federal relationship with Ethiopia. In 1962, Ethiopian Emperor Selassie forced the cancellation of the federal system, with Eritrea becoming a province of Ethiopia. On May 23, 1991, Eritrea became formally independent.

Eritrea Map

Eritrea Map

You may also like...