Zimbabwe Flag and Meaning

Flag of Zimbabwe

Flag of Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe Flag Meaning

The flag of Zimbabwe was adopted on 18 April 1980 in a ratio of 1: 2. The flag is divided into seven horizontal bands with a white triangle with black edges on the left side of the flag. Inside the triangle is a red five-pointed triangle with a gold-colored Zimbabwe bird covering the star. The black band is in the middle then the remaining bands are in the colors green, yellow and red with three on each side of the black band.

The green color represents agriculture, the yellow stands for minerals, the red for the struggle for independence and black for the indigenous people. The white triangle stands for peace and hope for the future, the red star for internationalism and the bird figurine is a national symbol that will make people think of the population’s roots.

Zimbabwe Overview

Population 12.6 million
Currency Zimbabwe dollars
Area 390.760 km2
Capital city Harare
Population density 32.2 residents/km2
HDI location 169

The country consists predominantly of hilly plains. The majority of the population lives in Alto Veld, where the soil is fertile, the rainfall adequate and where there is opportunity for mining. The climate is tropical but moderate due to the altitude. The depletion of the soil is severe. Especially on the common lands where subsistence farming is practiced.

Authoritarian regime with significant human rights violations. The EU and the US are not allied with the regime and have therefore frequently criticized it and implemented sanctions.

The people: The majority of the population (94%) have Bantu background. The most important groups are the Shona who founded the first state in the area and the Ndebele Zulus who arrived in the 19th century.

Religion: The majority of the population (55%) practice traditional African religions. 45% are Christians – most Anglicans.

Language: English (official). The majority of the population uses their own bantu languages.

Political parties: Zimbabwe African National Union – Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF) is the ruling party, and President Mugabe stems from this. It is formed by merging Mugabe’s own ZANU and Joshua Nkomo’s ZAPU. Both were key organizations in the fight against the apartheid regime in the 1970s. The opposition consists of: Movement for Democratic Change (MDC).

Social Organizations: Organization of Agricultural Associations for Progress (ORAP)

Official name: Republic of Zimbabwe.

Administrative division: 8 provinces

Capital: Harare, 2,800,000 in (2006).

Other important cities: Bulawayo, 794,600 residents; Chitungwiza, 390,600 residents; Mutare, 168,100 residents (2000).

Government: Emmerson Mnangagwa, President since November 2017.
Parliament has two chambers: the National Assembly with 270 members; The Senate has 80 members (60 elected by direct election, 18 are chiefs and 2 disabled).

National Day: April 18 (Independence, 1980)

Armed Forces: 29,000 Soldiers (2003)

Paramilitary forces: 15,000 (Republican Police Force), 2,000 (Auxiliary Police), 4,000 (National Militia)

You may also like...