Cape Verde Flag and Meaning

Flag of Cape Verde

Flag of Cape Verde

Cape Verde Flag Meaning

The flag was not adopted until 22 Spetember 1992, even if you used a flag that was very similar to the one today has ever since independence in 1975. The flag’s foundation comes from Guinea-Bissau flag that came from the poltiska party PAIGC. The party’s goal was to unite Cape Verde and Guinea-Bissau, but a military coup in Guinea-Bissau in 1980 put an end to this. The two countries were thus never united because Joao Bernardo Vieira took power who did not like that idea.

The flag is blue with three with three horizontal stripes in the colors white at the top, red in the middle and white also at the bottom. It is also a circle of ten five-pointed stars representing each island included in the Cape Verde archipelago.

Cape Verde Overview

Population 400000
Currency Cape Verde escudos
Area 4,030 km²
Capital city Praia
Population density 99.2 residents/km²
HDI location 118

Archipelago of volcanic origin. The archipelago is divided into the “windward” islands: Santo Antão, São Vicente, São Nicolau, Santa Luzia, Sal, Boa Vista, Branco and Raso and “reading side” the islands: Fogo, São Tiago, Maio, Rombo and Brava. The islands are mountainous with altitudes up to 2,800 m. There are no permanent rivers and the rainfall depends on the cold stream from the Canary Islands. The majority of the population is employed in agriculture, but production is sparse. Cape Verde is located in the Sahel Belt and is subject to desertification and periodic drought periods. These are phenomena that result from the heavily sloping terrain, the strong winds and the small size of the territory.

The people: Cape Verde’s inhabitants are originally Africans – the Bantu people – and Europeans. 71% are mulattoes, 28% are Africans and 1% are Europeans.

Religion: Predominantly Catholic (93.2%), Protestant (6.8%)

Language: Portuguese (official), but Creole based on Old Portuguese and African languages ​​is the national language.

Political parties: African Party for Cape Verde Independence (PAICV); The Movement for Democracy (MPD); The Democratic Alliance for Change.

Social Organizations: The National Organization (UNTC-CS); Cape Verde Confederation of Free Trade Unions.

Official name: República do Cabo Verde.

Administrative subdivision: 9 islands and 14 counties

Capital: Praia, 200,000 entries (2010).

Other important cities: Mindelo, 64,000 residents; Santa Maria, 13,400 residents (2000).

Government: Parliamentary Republic. Jorge Carlos Fonseca has been the country’s president since September 2011, re-elected in 2016. Ulisses Correia e Silva has been prime minister since April 2016. Parliament has a chamber – the National Assembly – with 72 members.

National Day: July 5 (Independence Day, 1975)

Armed Forces: 1,100