Kenya Flag and Meaning

Flag of Kenya

Flag of Kenya

Kenya Flag Meaning

The Kenyan flag was adopted on December 12, 1963 with the proportions 2: 3. The flag is a tricolor with the colors black, red and green with white stripes that delimit the fields. In the middle of the flag is a Maasai shield on two crossed spears that has a samba with Kenya’s coat of arms. The black color stands for the freedom struggle for the country’s independence and for the Kenyan people. The red color symbolizes the blood that was spilled when the country liberated itself from the oppression of the colonial power. The green symbolizes the land and agriculture and the white delimiting stripes symbolize peace.

Like the national flags of many other African countries, the Kenyan flag is based on the flag used by the dominant independence movement.

Kenya Overview

Population 30.7 million
Currency Kenyan Shilling
Area 580.370 km2
Capital city Nairobi
Population density 52.8 residents/km2
HDI location 128

Kenya is located in central East Africa and is ethnically and geographically diverse. The country can be divided into 4 climatic regions from east to west: The coastal area facing the Indian Ocean is low lying and flat with frequent rainfall and tropical vegetation. Further on, there is a sparsely populated area with falls to the north and northeast. The mountain range further in is the eastern part of the Rift fault. The climate is moderated by the altitude and the volcanic soil is well suited for agriculture. In this area the majority of the population and economic activity is concentrated. At the far west is a dry steppe, which in some places benefits from the rainfall from Lake Victoria. The country’s most serious environmental problems are: soil erosion, erosion and transformation into desert, forest precipitation, pollution of drinking water sources – especially around the larger cities such as Nairobi and Mombasa.

The people: Kenyans are descended from the most important ethnic African tribes: the Bantu, the Nilocamites, the Sudanese and the Cushites. The most important and numerically important groups are the Kikuyu and the Luo. The other ethnic groups are baluya, kamba, meru, kissi and embu. In addition, there are minorities of Indians and Arabs.

Religion: Christians (73%), traditional religions (20%), Muslims (6%)

Languages: English (official). Swahili is the national language. Furthermore, over 50 other languages ​​are spoken – especially kikuyu and kamba.

Political parties: Kenya African National Union (KANU) formed by Jomo Kenyatta in 1943. A constitutional reform made it legal to form new parties from the end of 1991. The National Unity Party (PNU) is led by Mwai Kibaki; Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) led by Raila Odinga. The Restoration of Democracy (FORD) Forum is the main opposition party. It was divided into two branches in 1992: FORD-Asili y FORD-Kenya. In addition: Democratic Party (DP), National Party for Development (NPD), Kenya Social Congress (KSC), Kenya National Congress (KNC).

Social Organizations: The national organization COTU was established by the government in 1965 and is the only country. The student organization at the University of Nairobi. The Green Belt Environmental Organization.

Official Name: Jamhuriya Kenya

Administrative division: 7 provinces and 1 area

Capital: Nairobi, 3,138,000 (2009)

Other important cities: Mombasa, 685,000 Kisumu 266,300; Nakuru, 319,200; Machakos, 173,700 (2000).

Government: Since April 2013, Uhuru Kenyatta is the country’s president; re-elected in 2017. Two-chamber system: The National Assembly has 349 members elected for a 5-year term; the senate has 67 members.

National Day: December 12 (Independence, 1963)

Armed Forces: 24,200 (1996).

Paramilitary forces: 5,000

You may also like...