Madagascar Flag and Meaning

Flag of Madagascar

Flag of Madagascar

Madagascar Flag Meaning

The flag was adopted on October 14, 1958, two years before the country became independent from being a French colony. However, after a referendum, the country decided to join France in the French Union.

The colors red and white are typical colors for Southeast Asia, which people immigrated to to Madagascar and it was the colors that adorned the kingdom of Merina from the 1790s until the country became a French colony in 1896. The white color stands for purity, rice cultivation and the female traditional folk costume ?? lamba ??, red is the clay that covers the walls of the house and green symbolizes the national symbol Ravenala Madagascariensis (The Tree of the Travelers).

Madagascar Overview

Population 16 million
Currency Madagascar francs
Area 587.040 km2
Capital city Antananarivo
Population density 27.2 residents/km2
HDI location 135

Madagascar is one of the largest islands in the world and is separated from the African continent by the Mozambique Canal. The land has a large central high plateau of volcanic origin, which is dry and humid, to the east covered by rainforest and to the west by savanna. The country’s eastern part is very rainy, while the rest has a drier tropical climate. The majority of the population is concentrated in the central highlands. Rice and export crops are grown in the flat coastal areas: sugar, coffee, bananas and vanilla. Cattle farming is spread throughout the island and is another important activity. The country’s most important mineral resources are graphite, chromium and phosphate. Its most serious environmental problem is deforestation. It is estimated that about 75% of its forests are destroyed. The sparse treatment and discharge of organic waste have polluted many of the country’s rivers. Madagascar is considered a major biological reserve, although many species are at serious risk of being eradicated due to the cultivation methods that have been used over the centuries. The destruction of the rainforest exceeds its ability to be recreated.

People: Malgachers, 98.9%; Indians and Pakistanis, 0.2%; French, 0.2%; Chinese, 0.1%.

Religion: Christians, 41% (21% Catholics, 19% Protestants); 52% of the population practices indigenous African religions; Muslims, 7%.

Languages: Madagashi and French (official). Furthermore, hovba and other local dialects are spoken.

Political parties: I love Madagascar (Tiako I Madagasikara, TIM); National Union (Firaisankinam-Pirenena); The Structure of Madagascar Salvation (Andry sy Riana Enti-Manavotra an’i Madagasikara); Economic Liberalism and Democratic Action for National Reconstruction. (Leader-Fanilo).

Social Organizations: There are 4 professional national organizations: the Confederation of Madagascar Workers (FMM); The Christian Professional Confederation (SECRIMA); Madagascar’s Union of Autonomous Trade Unions (USAM) and Madagascar’s Trade Union (FISEMA).

Official name: Republic of Madagascar/Republic of Madagasikara

Administrative division: 6 provinces, 10 prefectures, 1,252 sub-prefectures and 11,333 villages

Capital: Antananarivo, 1,678,000 (2003).

Other important cities: Toamasina, 166,000 residents; Fianarantsoa, ​​131,600 residents; Mahajanga, 128,600 residents (2000).

Government: Hery Rajaonarimampianina has been the country’s president since January 2014. Olivier Mahafaly Solonandrasana has been prime minister and head of government since April 2016. Parliament has two chambers: the National Assembly with 151 seats whose members are elected by direct election and for a 5-year term, and the Senate with 60 seats.

National Day: June 26 (Independence Day, 1960)

Armed Forces: 14,000 (2003).

Paramilitary forces: 7,500 (Gendarmerie).

You may also like...