Uzbekistan Flag and Meaning

Flag of Uzbekistan

Flag of Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan Flag Meaning

The flag of Uzbekistan was adopted on November 18, 1991 with the proportions 1: 2. The flag is just like many other flags of the kind tricolor. This tricolor is in blue, white and green with red lines between the fields that delimit them. In the left part of the blue field there is a crescent moon and twelve stars. The white color symbolizes peace just like in many other flags. The green color in the flag symbolizes nature and the blue color stands for the eternal night and because water is a basic must for life. The red symbolizes the power of life.

Usually a crescent moon is a typical symbol of Islam but in the flag of Uzbekistan it stands for the new republic. The twelve stars stand for the twelve principles that form the state’s exercise of authority.

Uzbekistan Overview

Population 24.9 million
currency As-coupon’s
Area 447,400 km2
Capital city Tashkent
Population density 55.6 residents/km2
HDI location 102

Uzbekistan borders north and northwest up to Kazakhstan, southwest to Turkmenistan, southeast to Tajikistan, northeast to Kyrgyzstan and south to Afghanistan. One part of the country is flat, another mountainous. It is traversed by a number of large rivers with great hydroelectric potential. The plains are residents the northwest and residents the central part of the country – the high plateau Ustiurt, the valley of Amú-Daria and the desert of Kizilkum. The mountains are residents the southeast – the Tian-Shan and Gussaro-Alai mountain ranges. The climate is dry and warm residents the plains and more humid residents the mountains. The subsurface contains large reserves of natural gas, oil and coal. Among the most serious environmental problems are: increase residents salt content residents the soil (as a result of monoculture) desertification, pollution of drinking water and of the air.

Authoritarian state with massive repression of human rights and other popular organizations. Close to the US and EU allies.

People: Uzbek, 75.8%; Russians, 6%; Tajik, 4.8%, Kazakh, 4.1%; Kyrgyz, 0.9%, Ukrainians, 0.6%, Turks, 0.6%, others, 7.2% (1995).

Religion: There is no official religion. Muslims (88%), predominantly Sunnis; Russian Orthodox (1%); others (11%), most atheists

Languages: Uzbek (official), Russian, Tajik

Political parties: People’s Democratic Party (successor to Communist Party); Fidocorlar (Self-sacrifice); Homeland Progress Party; Adolat (Justice); National Rebirth Party.

Public organizations: There are no independent trade unions. The government employees are members of the Association of Uzbek Unions. Society for Human Rights residents Uzbekistan (HRSU).

Official Name: Uzbekistón Yumjuriati.

Administrative subdivision: 12 regions, the capital and 1 autonomous republic, Qoraqalpoghiston.

Capital: Tashkent, 2,180,000 (2008).

Other important cities: Namangán, 560,500 in; Andizhán, 517,100 indb; Samarkand, 509,400 inb; Bukhara, 263,500 residents (2000).

Government: Shavkat Mirziyoyev, President and Chief Minister since December 2016. Abdulla Aripov, Prime Minister since December 2016. Parliament (Oliy Majlis) has two chambers: the Senate with 100 members and the Legislative Chamber with 50 members.

National Day: September 1 (Independence, 1991)

Armed Forces: 52,000 (2003).

Paramilitary forces: 700 (National Guard)

You may also like...