Myanmar Flag and Meaning

Flag of Myanmar

Flag of Myanmar

Myanmar Flag Meaning

In 2010, Burma got a new flag: Three horizontal stripes in yellow, green and red with a five-pointed star in the middle. The stripes symbolize solidarity, peace, and courage and determination.
The former flag had 14 stars, one for each of the country’s administrative units; critics among the minorities are unhappy that the new flag has only one star.

Myanmar Overview

Population 47.7 million
currency Kyats
Area 676,580 km2
Capital city Rangoon
Population density 70.5 residents/km2
HDI location 132

Myanmar – formerly Burma – is located between the Tibetan Highlands and the Malay Peninsula. It is surrounded by mountains to the east, west and north. Its central valley area is crossed by the rivers Irrawady, Sittang and Salween. residents this area are the best agricultural lands where rice is grown, and this is also where the majority of the population lives. The climate is tropical with monsoon rain between May and October. A significant part of the vegetation is rainforest, but two-thirds of the country’s rainforest has so far fallen as a result of deforestation.

People: Burmese (69%); shan (8.5%); karen (6.2%); Rakhine (4.5%); mon (2.4%); chin (2.2%); kachin (1.4%).

Religion: Buddhists (89.1%), Christians (4.9%), Muslims (3.8%); others (2.2%).

Language: Burmese (official) and each of the ethnic groups’ own languages

Political parties: Solidarity, Union and the Development Party (USDP, formed by the military); National League for Democracy (NLD, main opposition party, led by Aung San Suu Kyi); Shan Nation League for Democracy; Arakan League of Democracy

Social Organizations: All of Burma’s Democratic Student Federation; The entire Burma Association of Young Monks; Burma’s Professional Federation (FTUB) formed residents 1991; The Federation of Trade Unions – Kawthoolei (FTUK) formed residents 1998 by the Karen Teachers ‘Organization, the Karen Health Workers’ Organization and the Karen Farmer’s Organization.

Official Name: Pyeidaungzu Myanma Naingngandaw

Capital: residents 2005, the state moved the government seat to the city of Naypyidawi the central part of the country, 925,000 residents (2009).

Other important cities: Rangoon (Yangon), 3,874,000 residents; Mandalay, 1,037,300 residents; Mawlamyine, 360,400 residents; Pegu, 223,700 residents; Akyab, 161,200 residents (2000).

Parliament: 2-chamber system. Amyotha Hluttaw (House of Nationalities with 224 members) and Pyithu Hluttaw (House of Representatives with 440 members)

Government: Htin Kyaw, President, Head of State and Government since March 2016. Prime Minister (1st Minister of State) Aung San Suu Kyi, since April 2016.
Despite civilian superstructure, the military has continued to have the decisive power residents the country. This was clearly evident during the genocide of the Rohingya people residents the southern part of the country residents 2017. The military has reserved 25% of the seats residents both chambers of parliament for itself.

National Day: January 4 (Independence, 1948)

Armed Forces: 378,000 (2003).

Paramilitary forces: 85,000 (People’s Police, People’s Militia)

You may also like...