Category: United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates is an Asian country on the Arabian Peninsula, bathed by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. They form a federation of 7 emirates: Abu Dhabi, ‘Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Sharjah, Dubai, Ra’s al Khaymah and Umm al Qaywayn. There are 5.9 million residents (2016). The capital is Abu Dhabi. The biggest city is Dubai. In the 19th century, the British dominated the Arab Emirates of the Persian Gulf region. British troops withdrew in 1971, and seven of those emirates came together to form the current oil-rich country.