United Arab Emirates Flag and Meaning

Flag of United Arab Emirates

Flag of United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates Flag Meaning

The United Arab Emirates has had its current flag since December 2, 1971 and it consists of four different colors. A red cross line on the left edge, and a green, white and black line on the horizontal. The respective colors in the flag represent and symbolize different things. The green color represents the country’s largest religion, Islam. The white color in the flag stands for neutrality, and the black color in the flag represents the oil within the country’s borders. Each emirate that is part of the United Arab Emirates has its own flag.

The seven states are Abu Dhabi , Ajman, Dubai , Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Qawayn.

United Arab Emirates Overview

Population 2.6 million
currency EAU dirhams
Area 83,600 km2
Capital city Abu Dhaby
Population density 31.1 residents/km2
HDI location 32

Located residents the southeast corner of the Arabian Peninsula, extending from the Qatar Peninsula to the Strait of Hormuz. The area consists mainly of desert with few oases and wadis, ie. desiccated river beds. The coastline is a lowland area with coral islands and sandbanks. This is where most of the oil deposits are currently being exploited, and therefore also the greatest pollution. The country is one of the world’s most important oil producers.

Kleptocracy and dictatorship supported by Saudi Arabia, USA and EU.

The People: Arabs make up 25% of the population, of which 13% come from other Arab countries, primarily Egypt, while 12% are from the Emirates. There are large groups of immigrants residents the country, 45% of the total population comes from especially Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka; Iranians represent 17%, while immigrants from other Asian and African countries make up 8%.

Religion: The majority of the population, 94.9%, are Muslims – Sunnis 80%, Shiites 14.9% – Christians 4%; other 1.1%.

Language: Arabic is the official language.

Political parties: Political parties and trade unions are prohibited.

Official Name: Daulat al-Imarat al-Arabiya al-Muttahida.

Administrative division: 7 Emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah.

Capital: Abu Dhabi, (Abu Zaby), 896,000 residents (2009)

Other important cities: Dubai, 2,262,000; Ash-Shariqah, 402,000 in; Al-‘Ayn, 283,800 inb; Ajman, 143,700 residents (2008).

Government: Federation of monarchies. Federal President, ie. head of state, since November 2004: Sheikh Khalifa ibn Zaid Al Nahayan, emir of Abu Dhabi. residents 2012, Khalifa’s assets were $ 7.5 billion. US $. The family’s total wealth was $ 150 billion. US $. Vice President and Prime Minister since January 2006: Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum; The National Federal Council, which is the legislative assembly, consists of 40 members, appointed by the emirs.

National Day: December 1 (Proclamation of the Union, 1971).

Armed forces: 51,000 men (2003)

You may also like...