Kyrgyzstan Flag and Meaning

Flag of Kyrgyzstan

Flag of Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan Flag Meaning

The flag of Kyrgyzstan was adopted on 3 March 1992 by Parliament in a proportion of 3: 5. The flag is red with a golden sun in the middle with 40 rays. The sun’s 40 rays symbolize the 40 Kyrgyz tribes traditionally united by Manas, known as a national hero. Red is Mana’s color, but also has a connection with the old Soviet flag.

The stylized emblem, or “sun”, in the center of the flag represents partly peace and prosperity, and partly the motherland and the universe as a whole. Kyrgyzstan mixed with Russia in the 19th century. Today’s Kyrgyzstan was incorporated into the Turkestan ASSR after the Russian Revolution as part of the Russian SFSR.

Kyrgyzstan Overview

Population 4.9 million
currency Like S
Area 198,500 km2
Capital city Bishkek
Population density 24.6 residents/km2
HDI location 109

Kyrgyzstan is located residents northeastern Central Asia residents the heart of the Tian-Shan mountain range. It is adjacent residents the south towards China and Tajikistan, residents the north towards Kazakhstan, Uzbekistanin the west, the Pamir and Altai mountain ranges residents the southwest and Tian-Shan residents the northeast. The country holds highs and valleys. residents the north valleys Chu and Talás, residents the south valley Alai and residents the southwest valley Fergana. The country has a mainland climate with great variation between night and day temperatures. The area at Tian-Shan is dry, while the southwest region around Fergana is rainy. The largest rivers are Narín and Kara-Suu, both of which have great potential for electricity generation. The main lake is Issik-Kul. residents the mountains there are forests and grasslands, while the low lying areas are characterized by desert or semi-desert. The subsoil is rich residents lead, zinc and other metals, which are large coal reserves as well as some deposits of oil and natural gas. The pollution of the rivers is a serious problem as one third of the population gets their water directly from the rivers.

The people: Kyrgyz 52.4%; Russians, 21.5%; Uzbekere, 12.9%; Ukrainians, 2.5%; Germans, 2.4% (there are descendants of Germans deported from the Western Soviet Union residents 1941)

Religion: Islam (Sunnis) and Russian Orthodox Christians

Languages: Kyrgyz (official), Russian and Uzbek

Political parties: Union of Democratic Forces, Kyrgyzstan’s Democratic Women’s Party, Communist Party, Afghanistan Veterans Party

Official name: Kirguiz Republikasy

Capital: Bishkek, 1,250,000 residents (2007)

Other important cities: Osh, 217,000 residents; Jalal-Abad, 73,200 residents; Tokmok, 61,800 residents (2000)

Government: President: Sooronbay Jeenbekov since December 2017. Prime Minister: Sapar Isakov since August 2017. Parliament has two chambers: the Legislative Assembly with 60 seats and the People’s Assembly with 45 seats

National Day: August 31 (Independence, 1991)

Armed Forces: 12,200 (1997)

You may also like...