Albania Flag and Meaning

Flag of Albania

Flag of Albania

Albania Flag Meaning

The flag of Albania consists of a red background with a black double-headed eagle on it. On April 7, 1992, it was officially adopted as the national flag of Albania. It is also called Shqiponja. Albania’s name in Albanian is ?? the land of the eagles ?? which explains the double-headed eagle.

The double-headed eagle was adopted as a Christian symbol of the Byzantine Empire and later as a field sign in the 15th century by the Albanian national hero Skanderbeg. The symbol was used during the freedom struggle in the years 1443-1478 against the Ottoman Empire.

At Albania’s declaration of independence on November 28, 1912, the flag was raised for the first time. It had been sewn by a woman in the Albanian coastal city of Vlora, Marigona. The flag contained parts of the Italian coat of arms during the Italian occupation. In 1946, the People’s Republic of Albania was proclaimed. The socialist state first represented the flag in golden yellow behind the eagle in the middle of the flag. Then it was changed to instead have a red star with gold edges above the eagle in the middle of the flag. Albania then abandoned socialism in 1992 and the original appearance of the flag from 1912 was restored.

Albania Overview

Population 3.1 million
Currency New leaks
Area 28.750 km2
Capital city Tirana
Population density 107.8 residents/km2
HDI location 64

Albania is located on the Balkan Peninsula out to the Adriatic Sea. The coastline consists of two parts. The border area with Yugoslavia on the Gulf of Vlorë consists of flooded lowland areas which in winter become partly swampy. Further south, the coast has a Mediterranean climate and is characterized by mountains. The interior of the country is mountainous, the lands are poor and cattle farming is dominant. In the lowlands cotton, tobacco and maize are grown. In the valleys rice, olives, wine and wheat. Large parts of the country are covered with forests. The country is rich in minerals and contains oil deposits.

The people: Albanians (96%). Ethnically homogeneous people, although there are contradictions between the gays in the north and the fools in the south. In addition, Greek and Bulgarian minorities exist.

Religion: Religion was again allowed in 1989 after being banned in 1967. Information from before 67 pointed to Islam as the most important religion (70%), Orthodox Albanians (20%) and Catholics (10%).

Languages: Albanian (official) and various dialects.

Political parties: The Constitution of April 30, 1991 states Albania as a multi-party state. The Ex-Communist Socialist Party (PS) today advocates for a democratic socialism and market economy. The Liberal Democratic Democratic Party (PDA) advocates for market economy. The Social Democratic Party (PSD) is in favor of gradual reforms. Union for Human Rights. Republican Albanian Party (PRA). The Federation of Albanian Women, Independently Without Parliamentary Representation. The Organic Party.

Social organizations: The Union of Free Trade Unions in Albania (BSPSH) and KSSH are the main national organizations.

Official name: Republíka e Shqipërísé

Administrative Division: 26 districts

Capital: Tirana (Tiranë), 618,000 residents (2008).

Other important cities: Elbasan, 101,300 residents; Durazzo (Durrës), 98,400 residents; Shkoder (Scutari), 84,300 residents; Valona (Florida), 81,000 in. (2000)

Government: Parliamentary Republic. Ilir Meta has been President since July 2017. Edi Rama has been Prime Minister and Head of Government since September 2013. The People’s Assembly is a one-chamber legislative body with 140 members elected every 4 years.

National Day: November 28. The Anniversary of Independence from the Ottomans (1912)

Armed Forces: 73,000 (22,400 recruits).

Paramilitary forces: 16,000; International Security Force: 5,000; people militia: 3,500.

You may also like...