Taiwan Flag and Meaning

Flag of Taiwan

Flag of Taiwan

Taiwan Flag Meaning

The flag of Taiwan is also known as the flag of the Republic of China. The flag is in red with a white sun on a blue background in the left corner of the flag. It is still used as a civilian flag and city flag on land and as a state flag and naval flag at sea. The white sun with a blue background behind it was designed in 1895 Lu Hao-tung a member of the “Society for the Revival of China”. The sun has 12 rays that represent progress because according to the traditional way of counting, it is 12 hours in a day.

The flag was used as the flag of the Sun Yat-sen party that led the nationalist party Kuomintang.

Taiwan Overview

Population 21.8 million
currency New Taiwan dollars
Area 36,000 km2
Capital city Taipei
Population density 605.6 residents/km2

Taiwan is located 160 km southeast of mainland China. Taiwan is part of a chain of volcanic islands residents the westernmost part of the Pacific. The Japanese islands are also part of this chain. The central parts of the island consist of mountains that extend to the south and north. An elongated flat area on the west coast of the island is the country’s most important agricultural area. Here rice, sugar cane, bananas and tobacco are produced. More than two-thirds of the island is covered by forest. It has a number of mineral resources: coal, natural gas, marble, limestone and limited deposits of copper, gold and oil. The country must bear the consequences of extensive industrialization with a high degree of pollution of the air, water and soil.

The People: The majority of the population is of Chinese origin. They came to the island from the 17th century and are known as “Taiwanese”. Hundreds of thousands of nationalists fled to the island residents 1949-50 after the Chinese Revolution. The island’s indigenous population is of Malay-Polynesian origin. It accounts for 1.7% of the total population, but is concentrated on the east coast, where it accounts for 25%.

Religion: Over half the population are Buddhists residents the Chinese edition; 25% are Taoists and there are also small minorities of Muslims and Christians.

Languages: Chinese (Mandarin), official. However, the majority of the population speak Taiwanese, akin to Chinese from Fujian Province. Hakka is the second most widely used Chinese language. There are also a number of native languages ​​such as Amis

Political parties: There are approx. 99 registered political parties residents the country, but only 4 of them play a bigger role. Kuomintang (Chinese Nationalist Party), founded residents China residents 1919. It created a political monopoly on Taiwan when the nationalists invaded the island residents 1949. It ruled under state of emergency until 1987. The Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) was established residents 1986 with a broad platform for restoring political democracy residents Taiwan. The new Flow is a trend residents the PDP that advocates Taiwan’s independence. The Center-oriented Workers ‘Party and the Socialist Workers’ Party emerged after the commencement of professional activities residents 1987. Among the independence groups is the World Union of Formos residents for Independence, which is banned by the government.

Social organizations: All trade unions are required to be affiliated with the Chinese Workers’ Federation controlled by Kuomintang, but residents 1987 some independent unions emerged, which came together residents a number of unions such as the National Union of Independent Trade Unions and the Tao-Chu-Miao Brotherhood.. There are still a wide range of organizations for Taiwanese expatriates, and finally there are groups fighting for the rights of the indigenous people.

Official name: Republic of China

Administrative division: 7 municipalities and 16 districts

Capital: Taipei (T’aipei), 2,606,000 residents (2010).

Other important cities: Kaohsiung, 2,478,600 in; Taichung, 2,070,300 residents, Tainan, 770,100 residents (2000).

Government: Tsai Ing-wen is president, elected to the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) residents May 2016. William Lai has been the country’s prime minister since September 2017. By a constitutional amendment residents 2007, the political system was transformed from a two-chamber system to a one-chamber system. The new parliament has 113 seats.

National Day: January 1 (Republic Day); February 25 (Constitution Day)

Armed forces: 376,000 soldiers

Paramilitary forces: 25,000 (military police)

You may also like...