China Flag and Meaning

Flag of China

Flag of China

China Flag Meaning

China’s red flag with its big yellow star surrounded by four smaller stars was adopted in 1949 in connection with the People’s Liberation Army and China’s Communist Party won the Chinese Civil War. When Mao Zedong proclaimed the People’s Republic of China on October 1 of that year, it was the first time this flag was hoisted.

It is believed that the significance of the four stars represents the four social classes; The workers, the peasants, the petty bourgeoisie and the patriotic capitalists. Another theory about the stars in the Chinese flag is that they should represent the most important ethnic groups in China; The big star stands for the Han Chinese and the four smaller stars for Mongols, Manchus, Tibetans and Uighurs.

The red color is taken from the color of socialism and the whole flag is inspired by the flag of the Communist Party.

China Overview

Population 1275.1 million
currency Renminbi (yuan)
Area 9,559,867 km²
Capital city Beijing
Population density 133.3 residents/km²
HDI location 89

China’s territory can be subdivided into three main geographical areas: the Central Asian region consisting of Inner Mongolia, Sin Kiang and Tibet. This is a high note with cold steppes residents winter. residents summer they are used as grazing areas.

Northern China consists of Manchuria and Hoang-Ho. These are flat steppe areas used for growing wheat, barley, sorghum, soya and cotton. There are large deposits of coal and iron. Manchuria is China’s most important metallurgical province.

Southern China is heavily hilly and traversed by the major rivers, Yangtze Kiang and Si-kiang. The climate is characterized by monsoon winds, warm and humid.

The country has large mineral resources: Coal, oil, iron and other metals. The use of coal as a primary source of energy contributes to significant acid rain, other pollution and emissions of CO 2. Less than 13% of the total area is covered by forests. The construction of the dam and hydroelectric plant at Three Gorges are considered to cause extensive environmental damage.

Party state.

The People: China consists of 56 different official nationalities: Han (91.96%), chuang (1.37%), manchu (0.87%), hui (0.76%), billion (0.65%), uighur (0.64%), yi (0.58%), tuchia (0.50%), Mongols (0.42%), Tibetans (0.41%), puyi (0.23%), heavy (0, 22%), yao (0.18%), Korean (0.17%), pai (0.14%), hani (0.11%), kazak (0.1%), tai (0.09%)), li (0.09%), others (0.51%).

Religion: 59.2% of the population declare themselves non-religious. The fusion of mysterious elements from Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism – there egl. is a code of morality and not a religion – as well as other rituals and forms of belief form what one might call “the dominant form of belief”. The most important formal religion is Buddhism (6%). Furthermore, Muslim and Christian minorities exist.

Language: Chinese (officially) is a Mandarin-Chinese modernization that was dominant residents the north. There are a wide variety of variants, of which Cantonese speaking residents the south is the most widespread. The ethnic minorities use their own languages.

Political parties: The Constitution states that the Communist Party of China (CCP) is “the entire Chinese people’s core leadership”. 8 additional smaller parties participate residents political life. This is true: the Democratic Party of the Chinese Workers and Peasants, the Kuomintang Revolutionary Committee and the Taiwan Self-Government League. residents addition, independent parties exist residents Macau and Hong Kong.

Official Name: Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo.

Administrative division: 23 provinces (the Chinese include Taiwan), 5 autonomous regions and 4 municipalities and 2 special administrative regions ( Macau and Hong Kong).

Capital: Beijing, 22,000,000 (2010).

Other important cities: Shanghai, 12,900,000; Xianggang (Hong Kong), 8,087,700 residents (1995); Shenyang, 6,326,000 (2000).

Government: The country has a mixed economy. Over half of the economy is capitalist, the rest are state-owned enterprises, cooperatives and collectives. Politically, the Communist Party (CCP) has been residents power since 1948. Xi Jinping is the general secretary of the CCP (re-elected residents 2017) and since October 2013 the country’s president. Li Keqiang has been Prime Minister since March 2013. The National Congress has 2,979 members and meets twice a year to ratify laws. Members of Congress represent geographical areas and social sectors – the military, minorities, women, religions, etc.

National Day: October 1 and 2 (National Day, 1949)

Armed Forces: 2,555,000 (2003). This included 136,000 women and 1,275,000 conscripts.

Paramilitary forces: 1,200,000 people police. It is subject to the Department of Defense.