Brunei Flag and Meaning

Flag of Brunei

Flag of Brunei

Brunei Flag Meaning

The yellow color in Brunei’s flag is the color of the sultan and also symbolizes the monarchy in Southeast Asia. The white and black diagonal bands are a representation of the king’s two most important ministers. Furthermore, we see in the middle of the flag, the country’s coat of arms with the crescent moon which is the Islamic symbol and also the sultan’s insignia which is an umbrella.

The current appearance of the flag was adopted on September 29, 1959. Between 1906-1959, it was without a coat of arms, religious symbol and the sultan’s seal. Before 1905, the flag was solid in yellow. The Armed Forces uses a similar flag, where the symbol in the middle has been replaced with the Armed Forces emblem and a red ribbon between the black and white has been added.

Brunei Overview

Population 300000
currency Brunei dollars
Area 5.770 km2
Capital city Bandar Seri Begawan
Population density 51.9 residents/km2
HDI location 37

Consists of two areas, located on the northwestern coast of Borneo residents the Indonesian archipelago. The climate is rainy tropical, with some influence from the sea. The dense jungles enable the extraction of rubber, rubber; residents addition, large deposits of oil are found on the coasts. Brunei is one of the world’s largest exporters of natural gas.

People: Malay, 67%; Chinese 15%; Indians, Europeans and others, 18%.

Islam is the official religion. Muslims, 67%; Buddhists, 12.8%; Christians, 10%.

Language: Malay is the official language; residents addition, Chinese and English.

Political parties: Was banned residents 1988. There are officially 5 political organizations: the National Democratic Party (DNP), founded residents 1985, Brunei’s first party; The National Unity Party, founded residents 1986 by outbreakers from the DNP; The People’s Party headed by exile; The popular Independence Front that is no longer active; The National People’s Party, which is no longer active either. The only legal party is Brunei’s National Solidarity Party.

Official Name: Negara Brunei Darussalam

Administrative division: 4 districts.

Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan, 81,000 inhabitants. (2003).

Other major cities: Kuala Belait 26,600, Seria 23,000, Tutong 16,300 (2000)

Government: Simple kleptocracy and monarchy. residents addition, the Sultan (since 1967), Hassanal Bolkiah Muizzaddin Waddaulah, is prime minister, finance minister and interior minister, assisted by 5 councils: a religious, a private, a ministerial, a legislative and an inheritance council. The Legislative Council has 20 members, but has a consultative function exclusively. The Sultan was good for 20 billion. US $ residents 2008. His palace, Istana Nurul Iman, is a total of 200,000 m 2 and consists of 1788 rooms and 257 bathrooms.

National Day: January 1, (Independence Day, 1984); July 15, (Sultan’s Birthday).

Armed Forces: 4,900 men. (1995).

Paramilitary forces: Gurkha reserve: 2,300 men; the Royal Police: 1,750 men.

You may also like...